Writing Rituals

6 Sep

This is a good subject for September, when everyone is getting back to regular routines, (sniff … I miss summer already) work, school, whatever. Here’s a perfect scenario:

I’m up at six, and after my usual workout and a hot shower, I’m at the keyboard where I nibble on a healthy breakfast and finish twenty pages of my latest novel before lunch.

Did you gag, reading that? Ha ha, fooled you.

Here is my REAL routine:

I roll out of bed around eight-thirty, pissed that I didn’t get up at six like I swore I would. I think about how I should exercise and feel guilty because I know I won’t. I hate everything about exercise. But I do have to walk the dogs, so I figure that’s something, right? Dogs are great, because there are no excuses.

I eat a semi-healthy breakfast — frosted Mini Wheats and a half a bagel with peanut butter — and catch up on my emails and blog sites while finishing my coffee. I think about how I love to write in the morning when my brain is fresh, but the truth is I’m hard pressed to write more than once a week these days. I only work part-time and have one adult kid left at home. So what’s stopping me?

I have no idea. I have to pick up groceries this morning, the cupboard is bare. I figure this counts as aerobics (walking from the parking lot to the store and down the aisles) and weight lifting (hauling the groceries in and out of the car). By this time I’ll be ready for a nap, because this afternoon I have to babysit my grandson for Daughter #1, and running after a 22-month old takes a lot of energy. Later on Daughter #2 will be home from her first day on the job. She’s a brand new teacher, and she’s a bit freaked out by things at the moment. We’ll go for coffee. She’ll rant and I’ll dish out amazing advice, ’cause I’m a pretty awesome mom, and I’ve been where she is.

I’ll make dinner for Hubby (I only have one, thank God) and Daughter #2. Tonight it’s Sesame Chicken with pasta. I’ll walk the dogs again, watch a bit of TV, read a few blogs or a novel, play with Twitter, then go to bed early.

Did you notice there’s very little writing in there?

I’d hire a chef and a housekeeper if I could afford it, but I’m not selling enough novels to do that. I’m not selling enough novels because I’m not cranking them out like I should. I figure once a year is all I can handle. Then I have to promote the crap out of them, and I have to find time for that.

I need a new ritual. Help! How do you squeeze writing and promotion into your day? How do you not get distracted?

8 Responses to “Writing Rituals”

  1. karenselliott September 7, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    This is also a good time to give a jab to some old routines, clean out boxes, update profiles, etc. http://michellerafter.com/2011/09/06/back-to-school-means-back-to-work/#utm_source=feed&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=feed

    • nancyelizabethlauzon September 8, 2011 at 8:39 am #

      Absolutely (I say, as I eye the closet in my office that’s bulging with old magazines and manuscripts)

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Cyndi September 7, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    Sounds sooo familiar. I have such good intentions of first-thing-in-the-morning writing. Then life interferes, and the dogs, and I need to get bread in the oven and clothes in the washer… :-/

    And look! Here I am on Facebook and blogs instead of writing my own blog post that’s due today. Dang, did it again –

    • nancyelizabethlauzon September 8, 2011 at 8:40 am #

      I know! How ironic, we’re complaining about not writing while we’re not writing and could be writing, LOL

  3. MichelleRafter (@MichelleRafter) September 7, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    Great post, and Karen, thanks for linking to my back-to-school post. It is a perfect time of year to clean out the old so you can jump into some new things.

    Michelle Rafter

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Where’s Papa Going With That Axe? « The Chick Dick Mysteries - September 18, 2011

    […] on the topic of Favorite First Lines. To read previous blog tours, check out Favorite Settings, Writing Rituals and Favorite Websites for Authors. At the bottom of this post you’ll find the other participants […]

  2. Funny Mystery Novels « The Chick Dick Mysteries - October 2, 2011

    […] read previous blog tours, check out Where’s Papa Going With That Axe?, Favorite Settings, and Writing Rituals.  At the bottom of this post you’ll find a link to the next participant in today’s […]

Talk to me ;)

