Pros and Cons of Being Cheap

20 Sep

I’ve discovered there are certain items in life that can–and should–be purchased on the cheap, if at all possible. Wine glasses fall into this category. I bought a box of 12 the other day at Bed, Bath & Beyond for $14. That’s a little over a dollar a glass. They look just fine. It’s not that I don’t like the look of expensive crystal. But I’d be too afraid to drink from them. I’ve broken more than a few wine glasses in my time. Not because I was sloshed … I’m just clumsy. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it. So whenever I break wine glasses, I simply buy more.

Same with good china. I’ve cherished every china plate, cup and saucer my mother left me. But I must confess, I don’t use them. If I broke one of these heirlooms, I’d feel awful. If one of my guests broke them, they’d feel awful. Better to use the Corelle or Royal Chinet.

I don’t spend a lot on white tops, either. T-shirts, sweaters, blouses, it makes no difference. Whenever I wear a white top it attracts stains like a magnet. Spaghetti sauce and red wine are perennial favorites. I invariably end up having to buy a new white top every six months.  

I also buy cheap facial tissues. I don’t like the expensive ones with lotion. If I use those to clean my eye glasses, they cause heavy smearing.

But I’m not a total tightwad. There are certain things I spend quite a lot of money on, without blinking an eye.

 

I’ve fallen in love with Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc. I used to drink the cheapest wine going, but no longer. I also insist on 12-year old rum. El Dorado is my favorite. Drinking anything else is no fun at all.

I can’t wear cheap shoes either, or I’ll pay dearly in the form of blisters.  The subject for another post.

Same thing with bras. I only buy from Victoria Secret. They’re the best, and a girl’s gotta be comfortable.

There’s no point in buying cheap lipstick, either. The colors just don’t cut it, and it ends up a smeary, globby mess. I always regret it.

And same with plastic wrap.  If it’s too cheap you can’t even get it off the roll.

What about you? What items in your life do you spend real money on, and what can you be miserly about?

4 Responses to “Pros and Cons of Being Cheap”

  1. Cindy Sample September 20, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Fine chocolate, Kona coffee and toilet paper. This gal has her priorities.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon September 21, 2011 at 9:09 am #

      LOL. Of course, I forgot about toilet paper. So much better when it’s the good stuff!

  2. Angela Scott September 21, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    A good bra is a must. You just shouldn’t cut corners on that. I like to spend good money on jeans too. Every time I purchase a cheap pair, I hate them. But a solid, well fitting pair is worth the money. Running shoes you can’t buy cheap either or you will live to regret it.

    My mother in law is always trying to get me to buy the expensive paper towels. For me, a paper towel is a paper towel. I wipe up spills with it and then toss it in the garbage. When my mother in law comes into town, one of the first things she buys is a roll or two of paper towels she keeps in her room. She doesn’t like my Costco version.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon September 21, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

      You’re right about the jeans and running shoes. I buy cheap paper towels too. But my brother-in-law (who can be an obsessive compulsive freak) swears that Bounty is the only paper towel worth buying, because you only need one sheet to do the job so it lasts longer. This from a guy who once returned the bologna my mother bought because it wasn’t on sale. They live in the country, and it’s a 30 minute drive to the grocery store. I purposely don’t buy Bounty, just to piss him off.

Talk to me ;)

