Favorite Inventions

14 Oct

I’m stealing a blog page from fellow author and Sisters in Crime member Barbara O’Neal — you’ll find her post over at The Lipstick Chronicles — and I’m making a list of my favorite inventions of all time.

I’ve decided to streamline the list, since I could add things like ‘the light bulb’ or ‘the automobile’,  but truthfully, those things were already invented by the time I was born, despite what my kids think, so I’ll stick to things that have been invented in my lifetime and have had a more personal impact.

Here they are, in no particular order:

1) The Pampered Chef food chopper – it chops, it dices, throw it in the dishwasher.

2) Ultra thin eyeglass lenses – now I can proudly wear my glasses without worrying about references to coke bottles.

3) Portable back scratcher with telescopic handle – I keep it in my purse for those ‘I’m so itchy I’m going to die’ moments – available at Bed, Bath and Beyond.

4) ATM machines, or as my banker hubby calls them, ‘Titless Tellers’. No more waiting in line.

5) Post-It notes – love those little suckers.

6) Mini pop cans – just enough to quench your thirst, but not too much so you have to throw the rest out.

7) Memory foam mattresses – my back thanks you!

8) Abreva cold sore remedy – it’s about time.

9) The Swiffer Sweeper & and Wet Jet – my kitchen floor is black and white ceramic tile and I own two dogs. Enough said.

10) My laptop, my Nook, the Internet – saved the best for last.

What are your favorite inventions? The ones that define your days or nights? The ones that make life a little bit easier?

8 Responses to “Favorite Inventions”

  1. Ellis Vidler October 15, 2011 at 6:00 am #

    I found you. Love your list. Thin glasses definitely qualify (I’m in the coke bottle category too). The Internet and email have to be near the top of my list, and I’m going to look for a telescoping back scratcher–maybe two or three for gifts. What a great idea. I like some of the novel storage containers too, like an ottoman that doubles as a magazine, paper, book holder. And a coffee pot with a start and off timer–coffee when I wake up and no more burned pots. I’ll be thinking about these things all day.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon October 15, 2011 at 9:29 am #

      Thanks for you comment, Ellis! You’re right, I love things that double as something else, i.e. multitask. And coffee when you wake up is a must!

  2. Selena Robins Musings October 15, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    I didn’t know about that back scratcher, it’s going on my Christmas wish list. I pretty much like all the things you listed, except I have a love/hate relationswhip with the Internet and computers. I’m addicted to post it notes, highlighters and anything bright that helps my organizational, filing obsession.

    I also love the invention of crockpots, just makes life so much easier, and I’m in danger of collecting a few too many, but I could put different dishes I make in each one. So, they take up room on the counter. LOL

    Great blog, Nancy!

  3. Stacy S. Jensen October 15, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    I appreciate Facetime. My toddler is able to see grandparents and aunts and uncles with the touch of a button. Makes us not feel so distant.

  4. nancyelizabethlauzon October 16, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    We’re very lucky these days – communication is so much simpler than it used to be. Thanks for your comment, Stacy!

  5. Cynthia October 17, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    Great List! My favorite old invention would have to be the light bulb. How did anyone get anything done in the dark? Newer I’d have to say air conditioning, or maybe the internet. My favorite gadget invention of the moment is the Boost step stool on Quirky.com. I’m height challenged so I need that!

    • nancyelizabethlauzon October 23, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

      Hi Cynthia,

      I’m sure candles and lanterns were cool, but you can’t discount the fire hazard factor. I can’t believe I forgot about air conditioning! We didn’t have it growing up, and I can still remember those muggy, sleepless nights. Thanks for stopping by with your comments!

      Nancy

Talk to me ;)

