Remembrance

13 Nov

I was vacuuming the other day, and accidentally hit the cupboard which houses some of my dishes. I say ‘some’ of my dishes, because I have many. My grandmother’s, my mother’s and my own. I love dishes. I collect them.

The cupboard door swung open and out dropped a dish, smashing onto my hardwood floor into hundred pieces. When I saw the broken dish, I knelt down beside it and cried.

It belonged to my mother. She used to put cranberry sauce in it at Christmas time. Or maybe dressing. Sometimes she used it for berries.

A beaded glass dish, similar to the one I broke

I don’t have very much left of my mother, other than memories — and the older I get the more the memories fade. I keep her purse in my closet. It’s the same as it was the day she died. I haven’t touched a thing. Even the rumpled tissues.

I gave away most of her clothes to charity, but kept the blouse she wore the last time she visited me. And a few pairs of very expensive Italian shoes. She loved Italian shoes.

I kept her perfume bottle. She wore ‘Demi-Jour’. The bottle’s empty. They don’t make it anymore.

And I have her dishes.

Except now I have one less.

I know it’s only a dish, but why couldn’t it be the one I bought at the flea market for five dollars? The one that I wouldn’t miss?

Now I’ll be on full alert at the antique and collectible shows, searching for this dish or one like it.

Searching for a little piece of my mother.

2 Responses to “Remembrance”

  1. Selena Robins Musings November 14, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Nancy, that sucks. I know how you feel though and yes it’s only a dish, but even if it were just a clothes pin that belonged to your mom and you lost it, it would still be a loss. I know how you feel. I have an old sweater that belonged to my mom, and I had misplaced it and felt its loss so deeply, because it gave me comfort and I could still smell her sweet scent of Channel Number 5 that she loved so much. I have no idea if the scent was still there, but for me it was. Luckily, i found it, as I had forgotten where I had stored it. I hope you find another dish that looks exactly like it, because I know it will help keep those wonderful memories. Hugs.

    • Nancy Lauzon November 15, 2011 at 9:19 am #

      Thanks, hon. I know you know exactly how it feels.

      Hugs back,

      Nancy

Talk to me ;)

