A Beer Commercial Christmas

5 Dec

We’ve entered the Christmas season, and I spent the weekend decorating my house. I don’t want to sound like a humbug, but I look upon this as a rather large chore, since it involves dusting the banister before I wrap it in fake pine boughs. Because let’s face it, I don’t dust the banister that often. Ditto the fireplace mantel. Decorating also involves vacuuming, since the corner where we put the Christmas tree isn’t a corner that gets vacuumed a lot, either.

By now you’ve surmised that my weekly housekeeping routine is lacking, and you’d be right.

Christmas has gotten more complicated. When I was a kid all we did was decorate the tree. Now the whole house is done. So not only am I doing extra vacuuming and dusting, I’m also changing and setting out everything that is ‘Christmasy’, from pot pourrie to candles, from dishes to linen.

I wish I could relax and enjoy Christmas, but I don’t think there’s a woman on the planet who relaxes at Christmas, unless maybe they’re 95 years old and they have three generations of women in front of them who are doing the work of shopping and wrapping and baking and roasting.

One more complaint before I go. What’s with that song about the little boy who needs to buy red shoes for his dying mother but doesn’t have enough money? I get the sentiment and all, but really? A dying mother? It’s so damn depressing. My eyes fill with tears whenever that song comes on. I actually cry, it doesn’t matter where I am, although usually it’s a public place, like the grocery store.

I vote for a beer commercial over the song about the red shoes. Yeah, I know beer commercials are fake, all those laughing twenty-somethings having a fabulous Christmas party, drinking ice cold brewskies, not a care in the world. No overdone turkey, no hokey gifts, no family drama.

But isn’t the beer commercial Christmas the kind we all wish we could have?

2 Responses to “A Beer Commercial Christmas”

  1. Ellis Vidler December 5, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    I love your description of Christmas preparations. I do as little as I can, but it’s still hectic. I’m with you–bring on the beer commercials and leave off the sad songs!

    • nancyelizabethlauzon December 7, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

      Yeah, it can get depressing enough at Christmas without songs like that!

Talk to me ;)

