Jill of all Trades

6 Dec

The best part about being self-published is I don’t have to suffer rejection by publishing houses anymore. For more on rejection, read 50 Ways to Reject a Writer. I actually don’t need publishers to reject me, because I’m very good at self-rejection. It’s a habit I acquired early in life. I second-guess almost every decision I make. I relive conversations in my head and think of wittier, cleverer things I could have said. I look in the mirror and shake my head at the extra pounds.

Since I became an indie author, I’m now the Jill of all Trades. I’m the writer, the acquisitions editor, the copy editor, the publisher and the public relations department.

You might be thinking — man, her books must really suck. She’s got nobody to keep her in line. She could write absolute garbage and there’s nobody out there to stop her.

Fortunately, my mission isn’t to write books that suck. I value my readership — small as it is — and I care about quality control. Did I mention, I’m also the Quality Control officer? Oh yes, and I’m head of my own union. The other day I got a paper cut. I called Workman’s Compensation (me) and told myself to put a band-aid on it, and take the day off. I did all of this while still in my pajamas. You gotta love being self-employed.

But I digress …

Oh yes, quality control. I have a very savvy and honest critique partner who keeps me on the straight and narrow. If she tells me my book sucks, I go back to the keyboard. If she says it’s ready, I publish it. I contract out my book covers to a very talented artist. I’m the master of my own website. I write my own blogs and respond to every one who comments on them.

Being a Jill of all Trades is worth all of the hard work, because my career is in my own hands and no one else’s, except for the reader, who I write for. In the end, their opinion is the only one that matters.

7 Responses to “Jill of all Trades”

  1. Selena Robins Musings December 6, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    Great blog, Nancy!

    You are the Jill of all trades and you’re doing a great job and your books do NOT suck. If they did, I’d be the first to tell you. LOL Well, you know, I’d do it nicely.

    Keep up the great work. Can’t wait to see the cover of your next two books and read your Nano draft.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon December 6, 2011 at 9:58 am #

      LOL, you’re the best critique partner anyone could ask for. How did I get so lucky? It takes talent to nicely tell someone to go back to the keyboard, LOL.

      xo

      • Selena Robins Musings December 6, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

        *Blushing* Thanks and right back at you. I know I can always count on you to let me know when I’m off track with my characters. Love the new covers, can’t wait to spread the word about them.
        xo

  2. Stacy S. Jensen (@StacySJensen) December 7, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    I think I saw a post early today with the headline about “the self-employed” writer. Even the ones with “publishers” have to do a lot of the work themselves. Good luck with all of your work. I love the book stork blog idea. I’ll mention it around, too.

  3. mapelba December 7, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    There are a few reasons I have for continuing to pursue the traditional publish option, but one reason is that I do not have and don’t know where I’m going to find that honest reader. Everyone I know either will tell me I’m great (yeah, yeah, yeah), don’t like the kinds of stories I write, or don’t read at all. Well, maybe I do know a few people who might be perfect for the job, but they have crazy schedules and perhaps can’t be counted on to respond in a timely fashion.

    Anyway, you are lucky to have such a great reader! Keep writing–and keep the commitment to your work!

Talk to me ;)

