Bag Hag Saturday #1

10 Dec

This is the first post of Bag Hag Saturday, a blog where I defend myself against accusations that I own too many purses. If you’re a bag hag, drop me a line, I’d love to hear from you. I think I own about 15 or 20 bags, and I’m not a celebrity. Do you think I’m bag obsessed?

This is what I’m currently carrying. It’s a B. Makowsky, chocolate brown leather satchel, featuring copper-colored accents. I ordered this online from Nordstrom last year. I love the way the leather pleats. The straps are long enough to wear it on my shoulder. This bag is perfect for winter, because it’s able to withstand all weather conditions.

The best part about this bag is roominess. It has two zippered pockets, two additional magnetic pockets in the front and two handy side pockets so you don’t have to dig for your keys or cellphone. All in all, that’s six pockets, and it doesn’t even look bulky. Can definitely hold everything a gal might need.

How many purses do you own? If you own only one or two, do they meet your needs for all occasions? Am I truly bag obsessed?

8 Responses to “Bag Hag Saturday #1”

  1. Stacy S. Jensen (@StacySJensen) December 10, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    One day, I might return to the bag obsessed status. But for now, I mostly carry a diaper bag. I did get a freebie Dooney & Bourke bag in May for my birthday. My twin won it as a door prize and refused to carry it. It’s a basic brown leather, so I decided I would use it. Five months later, I finally had the courage to take it for a spin. It’s a nice bag. I can even throw snacks and an extra diaper in it.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon December 11, 2011 at 9:34 am #

      LOL Stacy! I remember those days. But you do realize there are designer diaper bags out there? Just sayin’. My daughter bought a Timi & Leslie bag and it’s really cute. Dooney & Bourke’s are nice too:)

  2. Courtney K December 10, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    I love this bag!! I’m not quite bag obsessed, but I do have about 10 that I use. My favorite is my leather Prada (appropriately named Prada) I purchased on my trip to Rome. I figured that was the best time to buy one since I was in a foreign country (and had to drink quite a bit of Peroni before making the purchase).

    Great post 🙂

    • nancyelizabethlauzon December 11, 2011 at 9:35 am #

      A Prada, wow. What a great decision, to buy one while in Italy. I haven’t made the leap yet to the top designers, but someday I know I must. It will be like finding the holy grail.
      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. the writ and the wrote December 10, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    I own exactly three purses. One cross-body that I bought at a hippie store in Asheville, North Carolina four years ago, one shoulder bag that I got on clearance at Target, and one evening bag that I inherited from my grandmother. I hate carrying a purse and honestly, if I could find a wallet style case for my iPhone, I wouldn’t.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon December 11, 2011 at 9:38 am #

      You make a good point. I’ve suffered sore shoulders from carrying too much stuff around. But there are cute wristlets that can carry the bare necessities – credit card and iPhone and chapstick. Can’t go anywhere without my chapstick.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. fandina72 December 11, 2011 at 5:47 am #

    I also love bags but my big obsession is shoes – I currently own 32 pairs and counting! For me, in order of love/obsessiveness, it goes like this: shoes, jackets, bags, scarves (I think I own about 50 scarves!).
    I always defend myself by saying that I will never be one of those people that others don’t know what to buy for birthdays, Christmas etc! They simply have no excuse LOL
    PS. I adore the bag that starred in this post! It’s divine!

    • nancyelizabethlauzon December 11, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      Awesome! I’ll be writing a shoe blog next Saturday. We should have a contest to see who owns more. My mother loved shoes, especially Italian leather strappy sandals. She usually bought Amalfi. So the love for shoes is in my genes.

      Thanks for your comments! If we didn’t live on separate continents I could totally lend you this bag!

Talk to me ;)

