How Stupid Can A Smart Girl Be?

5 Jan

I’m a smart girl. I’m not bragging, it’s just a fact.

But sometimes I do really stupid things.

To your left you see a photo of a meat thermometer. It’s a Polder Safe-Serve Instant Read Thermometer with Presets. I bought it at Bed Bath and Beyond for$14.99.  Nice, huh? Since I’m on this new diet, I eat a lot of meat, so it’s perfect.

Except when you roast it in the oven at 350 degrees.

That’s what I did. Even though it’s made of plastic. Even though the instructions (which I only glanced at) said it wasn’t for oven use. The idea is, you stick it in your meat when you think it’s done and it gives you an instant internal temperature on its digital monitor.

I’m used to the old kind of meat thermometer that can take a pounding in the oven.  I don’t know what I was thinking. I killed a perfectly good, brand new meat thermometer. Luckily the plastic didn’t melt all over my pork tenderloin.

I’m guessing the one-year limited warranty doesn’t cover stupidity.

If you’ve ever had a brain fart in the kitchen, I’d love to hear from you. Stupidity loves company.

10 Responses to “How Stupid Can A Smart Girl Be?”

  1. Michael Cargill January 6, 2012 at 3:04 am #

    I was actually just saying to my dog that Nancy is a damn smart girl but sometimes she can do the darnedest things.

    Recently someone in my house put the Vienetta in the fridge. I then put it back into the freezer and it leaked and then refroze all over the place.

    ANNOYING.

  2. mapelba January 7, 2012 at 1:04 am #

    I’ve blown an egg up in the microwave. I’ve put the wrong kind of soap in the dish washer (boy, did the floor get clean!). I’ve put keep-refrigerated items in the cabinet. I’ve put a full bottle of water in the freezer (broken glass all over the ice cream!). I’ve forgotten to use an oven mitt on a frying pan lid (OUCH!). I’ve put a pot of water on to boil and forgotten about it (poor little pot). I’ve used the wrong end of the knife (more OUCH). ANd I’ve never mastered boiling rice.

    But hey! I’ve got an MA in English.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon January 7, 2012 at 11:40 am #

      LOL. That’s funny. I’ve put vegetables in a pot to steam and forgotten to add water. I’m also a dunce when it comes to rice. Now I bake it in the oven, using a recipe from a friend who’s a great cook. Much better!

  3. buddhafulkat January 7, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    I’ve put a bottle of champagne in the freezer to quickly chill it, forgot about it until the next and was not surprised to see that it had exploded…

    • nancyelizabethlauzon January 8, 2012 at 7:45 am #

      Ha ha … I’ve done that with wine and beer, but champagne must leave a really big mess!

  4. Stacy S. Jensen (@StacySJensen) January 7, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    I burned a phonebook, set the smoke alarm off and received a call about whether I needed fire trucks while making dinner one evening years ago. I’ve picked up a few tricks since then. It helps that I don’t have many phone books around the house these days.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon January 8, 2012 at 7:48 am #

      I love when firemen come to my house, they’re so cute all dressed up in their gear … one day I smelled smoke and couldn’t figure out where it was coming from, so I called and they insisted on coming over. Turned out it was a defective light bulb. I felt stupid bothering them over something so small, but they said they didn’t mind. Must have been a slow day.

  5. Selena Robins Musings January 10, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    LOL! Only you would do that. However, I’ve had my share of mishaps many times over. For a moment, I thought this blog was going to be about the dolts that appear on the Bachelor show. LOL

    • nancyelizabethlauzon January 12, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

      I know, huh? They sure manage to pick some winners for that show. That’s what makes us watch, I suppose, LOL

Talk to me ;)

