Clutter F**k Club – Your Photograph Collection

10 Jan

If your life is a Clutter F**k, you’ve come to the right blog. Whether you want to shed pounds, toxic people, bad relationships, bad habits, bad karma, bad debt, old technology, mind-numbing jobs, closet clutter, debris-filled drawers,  garage garbage, collateral damage, filthy finances, litter-filled lavatories, rubbishy rec rooms or scrap heaps of scrapbooks, the Clutter  F**k Club will be held every Tuesday. We’ll discuss ways to rid our lives of every kind of clutter so we can make room for positive, life-affirming energy!

In our family we take a lot of pictures. Family events, graduations, weddings, Christmases, summer vacations, winter vacations, new babies, barbeques, you name it.  And if you line up a bunch of people for a photograph in our house, we take ten shots instead of one, just for prosperity.

Digital photography is a relatively new technology, so most of our photos are stored in photo albums. And I saved every photograph, instead of taking the time to weed out the not-so-good ones.

Photo albums are becoming another casualty in this high tech age. A lot of people don’t even print off their photos anymore, they just store them on their computer.

Moving forward, we’ve planned to store any new photographs on a hard drive and display them on a digital frame. (Love those things). But in the meantime, I’m left with at least thirty years (oops, am I dating myself?) of photograph albums, enough to fill a football stadium. Okay, maybe not a stadium. But they do fill a floor to ceiling shelf down in my laundry room, and they take up a lot of space.

If I don’t deal with these photograph albums now, it’ll be my children who have to deal with them after I’m dead. And they might feel too guilty to pitch them, and they’ll keep all my clutter, not just the dusty old photo albums, and there will be so much of my stuff in their house they’ll become hoarders.

So I’m going to deal with the photo albums while I’m alive. I’m going to choose the best photos I have, scan them, and put them on my digital frame, where I can enjoy them. The not-so-good photos, I’ll pitch.

Dragging  my photos into the 21st century is a monumental task that might take two years. But I’m determined. Or I’m crazy, I haven’t decided which.

Where do you store you photos? Have you gone digital with your frames? Or do you have, like me, a gargantuan collection lurking in your basement?

3 Responses to “Clutter F**k Club – Your Photograph Collection”

  1. Michael Cargill January 13, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    I don’t actually take many photos and instead rely on the snap-happy people around me.

    My prediction for your scanning project is that you will go through your photos but won’t want to throw any of them away.

    Good luck with it though there will be millions of people in a similar position as yourself.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon January 13, 2012 at 11:00 am #

      I know, what is it about throwing away photos of your loved ones? Can it be done? Should it be done? Oh, the agony…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventures in De-Cluttering « The Chick Dick Mysteries - April 25, 2012

    […] 2. Deal with gargantuan collection of photo albums that stare at me every time I throw on a load of laundry – see Your Photograph Collection […]

Talk to me ;)

