Book Shower – The Between by LJ Cohen

16 Jan

Interrobang Books

The Book Stork Has Arrived for LJ Cohen!

High school senior, Lydia Hawthorne, is less than grateful when Oberon has her snatched from the Mortal world and she finds out she’s actually Fae. And not just any Fae, but a trueborn with enough inherent magic to tip the balance between Oberon and Titania’s warring Bright and Shadow courts.

But that’s their game and she doesn’t want to play by their rules. Together with Clive Barrow, a Bright Court Fae with embarrassing family ties to the mortal world, Lydia fights to regain her old life, fueling her magic with the very human power of love and loss, challenging the essential nature of Faerie itself.

Buy this book!

YA Fantasy

Congratulations to author LJ Cohen on her book, The Between, which was launched on Jan 13, 2012. It’s available in eBook at Barnes and Noble, Amazon and Smashwords, and trade paperback at Amazon.

LJ, have a glass of virtual champagne tell us about your new arrival!

The Between is probably more of a toddler than a newborn, as I wrote the first draft 4 years ago. It is the story of a 17 year old who has to find resilience and strength she didn’t know she possessed to fight to choose her own path when all the power of Faerie has other plans.

What did you feed your muse during the book’s development? 

I try to feed my muse on a steady diet of beautiful words, regardless of what I’m writing at the time. To be a writer, it is crucial to be a reader and I almost always have my nose in a book.  I know I re-read Patricia McKillip’s RiddleMaster trilogy while writing The Between, not because of any theme or plot connection, but simply because McKillip’s prose is so lush and powerful.  I also read A Midsummer Night’s Dream several times, for research purposes.

 Did you experience any complications during the growth of this book?

I learned that bringing an incomplete story to a critique group isn’t right for my process. The critique group itself was wonderful, filled with supportive writers; many of whom I still trade work with.  But bringing a story still in process to the group made me second guess myself and grind to a halt in the middle of the novel.  It took me several months of working on other projects before I could clear my head and have a solid vision for the story.

 What is your favorite feature of this book (ie. character, setting, plot, etc) and why?

Hands down, Aeon, Oberon’s mad gardener, is my favorite character in The Between.  He was an unexpected delight—he wasn’t in any part of my pre-planning for the story.  Aeon simply showed up one day in response to something Lydia said.  From that moment on, he became an integral part of the narrative and I could no longer see it any other way.

Describe the perfect reader for this book.

Anyone who ever wondered what they would do if they fell down the rabbit hole one day. While I wrote this book for the creative and imaginative teen reader,  my 88 year old father, who typically reads only WWII, political, or financial non-fiction, is reading and enjoying it.

Are you expecting any more books (wink, wink)?

Aside from The Between, I have 5 other finished novels and I’m currently close to halfway through a YA ghost story that takes place in and around an abandoned amusement park.  My agent is shopping another YA story—a haunted house novel I describe as A Winkle in Time meets The Shining with the big NY publishers.  With any luck, there will be a ‘sibling’ for The Between in the near future and while The Between is a complete story (no cliff-hangers!), there are unanswered questions and a sequel in the works.

Thanks LJ! We wish you much joy (and lots of sales!)

LJ Cohen is the writing persona of Lisa Janice Cohen, poet, novelist, blogger, local food enthusiast, Doctor Who fan, and relentless optimist. Lisa lives just outside of Boston with her family, two dogs (only one of which actually ever listens to her) and the occasional international student. She is represented by Nephele Tempest of The Knight Agency. When not doing battle with a stubborn Jack Russell Terrier mix, Lisa is hard at work on her seventh novel, a ghost story.

Visit LJ at her website and blog, and on  Facebook , Twitter and Google Plus!

3 Responses to “Book Shower – The Between by LJ Cohen”

  1. the writ and the wrote January 16, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    Congratulations, LJ! Looking forward to reading The Between.

  2. ljcohen January 17, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    @Nancy, thank you for having me and my book as a guest on your blog!

    @the writ and the wrote, thank you! Hope you enjoy it!

Talk to me ;)

