Clutter F**k Club – Junk Drawers

17 Jan

If your life is a Clutter F**k, you’ve come to the right blog. Whether you want to shed pounds, toxic people, bad relationships, bad habits, bad karma, bad debt, old technology, mind-numbing jobs, closet clutter, debris-filled drawers,  garage garbage, collateral damage, filthy finances, litter-filled lavatories, rubbishy rec rooms or scrap heaps of scrapbooks, the Clutter  F**k Club will be held every Tuesday. We’ll discuss ways to rid our lives of every kind of clutter so we can make room for positive, life-affirming energy!

Admit it, you have a drawer just like this in your kitchen, family room, bedroom, etc. Junk drawers are a necessary evil. The stuff in a junk drawer has nowhere else to go … kind of a ‘last stand’ for your stuff, if you will. One step before the dreaded Trash Can.

I recently purged my junk drawers on the main floor. I have yet to tackle the upstairs. I found a lot of stuff I was missing. And other stuff that I wasn’t missing.

How many elastic bands and safety pins does a family need? Can anyone answer me this question? When you need an elastic or safety pin, you can’t find one. You find a ton when you’re cleaning a junk drawer.

There are three things you can do with this junk. Dump it, hide it, or sort it. If you’re a gambler in a hurry, just shove it all in a trash bag and throw it out. Did you just pitch a missing gold earring by mistake? Maybe. That’s the risk you take when you dump on faith.

Hiding it allows you to hedge your bets. Put it all in a bag and label it. Then revisit the bag a few months later. If you didn’t miss anything, then you can dump it, feeling more confident you didn’t accidentally throw out a hidden treasure.

Sorting it takes time, but this is for the person who doesn’t like risk. (Me.) Keep what you think you’ll use, and throw out or donate the rest.

Remind yourself again why you’re doing this. For a clean, uncluttered environment. To simplify and organize your life. And all that crap.

7 Responses to “Clutter F**k Club – Junk Drawers”

  1. buddhafulkat January 19, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    I’m a sorter too. I became that way through an extremely hard lesson…I was cleaning out drawers and I thought I put my wedding ring safely in the top one (I’m one of those strange people who don’t wear it all the time…) and it went missing…we were staying at a guest house and there was a staffer who may have had sticky fingers (the same one who gushed at my hubby and scowled at me) so it’s possible someone took it, but I’ve always had this horrible feeling that it was my cleaning frenzy that did it…

  2. Michael Cargill January 20, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    I once got a big box of paperclips for Xmas. I seem to find the damn things everywhere now.

  3. Selena Robins Musings January 20, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    @buddhafulkat I hope you find your ring, you never know it may show up one day. Strangers things have happened.

    It’s amazing what you can find in those cluttered drawers, but my philosophy is this: If I haven’t used something in a year, then we don’t need it. Usually, when I throw something out though, you’ll be sure a year later we will need it, and my husband will say, “see, told you not to keep throwing things out.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventures in De-Cluttering « The Chick Dick Mysteries - April 25, 2012

    […] De-clutter the 4 junk drawers in my home – see Junk Drawers and Anal in the […]

Talk to me ;)

