Book Review: Ultimate Justice by Ryder Islington

18 Jan

LL Publications

The small town of Raven Bayou, Louisiana explodes as old money meets racial tension, and tortured children turn the table on abusive men. FBI Special Agent Trey Fontaine returns home to find the town turned upside down with mutilated bodies. Working with local homicide detectives, Trey is determined to get to the  truth. A believer in empirical evidence, Trey ignores his instincts until he stares into the face of the impossible, and has to choose between what he wants to believe and the ugly truth.

Read what others are saying about Ultimate Justice!

In the steamy bayou of Louisiana, Special Agent Trey Fontaine’s missing person case may be related to a series of local murders investigated by his godfather, local detective Russ Coleman. Trey hasn’t been back to his hometown in years, and the case brings him face to face with his old love, Detective Gemini Taylor.

The author, Ryder Islington, paints a compelling psychological thriller using sensory-rich description, drawing the reader into the story with a realistic portrayal of violent crime investigation. The plot is well-paced, and the points of view rotate between several characters. At times the technical aspects of solving the crime overshadowed the emotional journey of the characters, but they were authentic and well-drawn, with enough secrets and conflict to keep them interesting.

The climax was unexpected, and didn’t disappoint. This book is a great choice for fans of gritty, engaging crime thrillers.

For a full schedule of Ryder Islington’s Blog Tour, click here!

About the Author:

A graduate of the University of California and a former officer for a large sheriff’s department, RYDER ISLINGTON is now retired and doing what she loves: reading, writing, and gardening. She lives in Louisiana with her family, including a very large English Chocolate Lab, a very small Chinese pug, and a houseful of demanding cats. She can be contacted at RyderIslington@yahoo.com or visit her blog at http://ryderislington.wordpress.com

4 Responses to “Book Review: Ultimate Justice by Ryder Islington”

  1. Ellis Vidler January 19, 2012 at 7:50 am #

    The book sounds good, very gritty–something in the vein of Mo Hayder or Karin Slaughter. The Louisiana setting should lend a lot to the atmosphere. Good luck with your book, Ryder. Thanks for the review, Nancy.

  2. Selena Robins Musings January 20, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    Thanks for posting this, Nancy. I’m looking to stock up on books, as I’ve run out. Sounds like an intriguing read and good review.

    Good luck with your book, Ryder.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon January 20, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, Selena. Definitely one to add to your TBR list!

Talk to me ;)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: