Coming Out of the Closet

4 Apr

SOME of my shoes, neatly stacked in my closet

No, this isn’t a post about me realizing I’m a lesbian. By now you must know my creative titles are meant to tantalize you to come read my blog. Did it work in this case? Good. This Clutter F**k Club post is about re-organizing your closet by throwing out stuff you don’t wear or need. If I had titled the blog: Re-organizing Your Closet, you would have passed. Right? Am I right?

One of the great things about losing weight (33 pounds and counting) is I’ve been promised a whole new wardrobe from hubby, since nothing fits me anymore. (Doing a happy dance). So I recently overhauled my closet in anticipation of the new arrivals.

I ended up with two garbage bags full of clothes that don’t fit, aren’t in style anymore, and/or are old. These will be donated to my local consignment store.

I have a nice closet (lots of shelving and side hooks for belts and bags) but I’m already using every hook and still needed a place for storing more scarfs and bags. Yes, I’m obsessed with bags. Isn’t everyone? A trip to Bed Bath & Beyond did the trick. I bought this cute scarf hanger (right) and this hanging purse holder (below).

It consists of velcro straps that hang on the rod and hold extra purses and totes. Genius.

A fantastic wardrobe-related site I recently discovered is Wardrobe Oxygen. It’s written by a gal named Alison who lives in the suburbs of Washington DC, and believes that “every woman is utterly gorgeous, and can feel beautiful and stylish no matter her budget or body.”

She’s got amazing advice on wardrobe staples, closet clean-outs and even shares her own personal fashion.

So what’s in your closet? When is the last time you really looked? Yes, it can be scary, but it’s well worth the effort!


11 Responses to “Coming Out of the Closet”

  1. 4amWriter April 4, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    I’m pretty good about keeping my personal closet organized. I do two seasonal shufflings a year. My hall closet, however, is another story–but that’s because everyone in the family uses it and no can respect order! 🙂

    Love the new items you bought. I’ll have to check out that site. Thx.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon April 4, 2012 at 8:52 am #

      Ah, the dreaded hall closet – I haven’t tackled that one yet. Who knew one family could own so many coats, jackets and sweaters?

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. ellisv April 4, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    If I threw out all my old, out-of-date clothes, I wouldn’t have anything left. But I admire what you’re doing. Good for you, Nancy.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon April 4, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

      There’s something to be said for hanging on to those – eventually they become ‘vintage’ and everyone wants them again!

  3. buddhafulkat April 4, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    That scarf hanger is brilliant! I need one for myself and one more for my hubby’s ties. We’ll have to make a stop at Bed, Bath and Beyond when we’re home this summer. Congrats on your new wardrobe – I’m jealous, in a good way =)

    • nancyelizabethlauzon April 4, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

      I know, it’s a real space saver. I’m lucky, I have a B B & B within walking distance from my house. My husband doesn’t consider that lucky, for some reason 😉

  4. Alison Gary (@wardrobe_oxygen) April 6, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    Gotta say, your blog’s title and the post title threw me for a loop when they came up in my Google Alert but I’m glad it did and I found your site! Congrats on the closet overhaul, isn’t it an amazing feeling? And BTW, that scarf hanger is now on my must-have list. I thank you (but my husband doesn’t – like yours, he’s not the biggest fan of my BB&B love!)

  5. Nurse Lyssie April 7, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Ironic that I read your post about spring cleaning just as I sat down on my “break” from tidying up the never-ending disaster. I am convinced that I have some abnormal emotional connection to all of my clothes. I WANT to get rid of them (some). I HAVE to get rid of them. I dont have anywhere to put them! But as more time goes on, and I keep on shopping 😀 more is crammed in and NOTHING comes out. hahaha. Maybe this will be the year I succeed. Lets face it, do you think I’d ever miss those things “i never wear but might someday wear it again now that I just looked at it and remembered I had it.” No. I wont.

    Well, back to cleaning for me!

    • nancyelizabethlauzon April 8, 2012 at 10:27 am #

      For sure, clothes definitely have an emotional connection. Some clothes I don’t miss at all, but there are some that I wish I had hung on to over the years, and once they’re gone you can’t get them back, so it’s a big decision!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventures in De-Cluttering « The Chick Dick Mysteries - April 25, 2012

    […] 7. Re-organize my clothes closet – see Coming Out of the Closet […]

Talk to me ;)

