Favorite Easter Candy

9 Apr

Cadbury mini eggs

Every Easter weekend of my childhood our family would drive from Montreal to Boston to visit our cousins in Hingham, Mass. Spring always hit the Boston area earlier, and I still remember the thrill of ditching our boots in favor of wearing our shoes outside for the first time in months. We would hold Easter Egg hunts outdoors in the brand new grass. It was during one of these visits I had my first taste of white chocolate.

Now Cadbury mini eggs are my favorite Easter candy. They used to be available only at Easter time, but somebody finally realized they were good enough to offer all year round. I could eat a giant bag of these in one sitting. I can’t anymore, of course, since I’ve ‘altered my eating lifestyle’ — a.k.a. I’m on a diet — so I received flowers this year from the Easter Bunny. But these little beauties are on the top of my list for Favorite Easter Candy.

Oh Henry egg

A close second on the list is the Oh Henry Easter egg, also hubby’s favorite. These are very hard to find. You have to shop early if you want these, and they’re still only available at Easter.

What’s your favorite Easter candy? Did the Easter Bunny deliver this year?

8 Responses to “Favorite Easter Candy”

  1. Brianna Soloski April 9, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    Cadbury Creme Eggs are my favorite. I’ve had at least a half dozen this year. Thank goodness they’ll be off the shelves this week. I have one left and I’m saving it for as long as I possibly can.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon April 9, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      LOL, I know, sometimes it’s a good thing when they’re not available the rest of the year!

      • Brianna Soloski April 9, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

        No kidding. I’m about tapped out for the year on them, anyway.

  2. Selena Robins Musings April 9, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    Dark chocolate. Godiva is my top choice, but I’ll take any dark chocolate, and if it has orange or strawberry in it, even better. Wait, that’s an all year treat. LOL

  3. 4amWriter April 11, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

    I used to get those big chocolate eggs filled with coconut cream (it must have weighed a least a pound!) It would last me months! I can’t seem to find those anymore, but those are my fave. I also love the cream eggs…

    • nancyelizabethlauzon April 12, 2012 at 9:14 am #

      Omigosh, I remember those! They were awesome! Now you’ve started something … the search to find the Holy Grail of Easter Eggs … hmmmm…

    • nancyelizabethlauzon April 13, 2012 at 10:10 am #

      Okay, mystery solved. Don’t know if you guys have the same candy store in the states, called Laura Secord? They sell those coconut cream eggs there. I’ve asked the Easter Bunny to buy me one next year. Whoo hoo!

Talk to me ;)

