Anal in the Bathroom

11 Apr

I promised I’d touch on litter-filled lavatories in my Clutter F**k Club posts, so today we’re in the bathroom.

The idea on the left came from an email forward I received entitled ‘Ideas to Make 2012 Easier.’ The caption underneath this photo read: ‘Forever losing your bathroom essentials? Use magnetic strips to store bobby pins, tweezers and clippers behind a vanity door.’

Now I like to be as tidy and organized as the next person, but somehow this idea struck me as a little anal. I hope I’m not being too harsh. Sure, I keep my bobby pins together, but they’re jumbled in a little wooden box on my bathroom shelf. The idea of spending time lining them up like tin soldiers on a strip of magnet smacks of OCD. Like my crazy neighbour who cuts her lawn with a pair of nail scissors. True story. My mother had a friend who even categorized her leftover sewing thread by color, and each color had its individual drawer <<smirk>>

How far are you willing to go in your quest to rid your life of clutter? When does being organized turn into being anal? Is there a line you’re NOT willing to cross?


7 Responses to “Anal in the Bathroom”

  1. 4amWriter April 11, 2012 at 6:06 am #

    I soooo agree. That is absolutely asinine. Plus it looks weird? Luv the analogy to tin soldiers.

  2. kathleenkaskawrites April 11, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    Enjoyed the article about being anal. I group my blouses and shirts according to sleeve length; sleeveless, short sleeves, 3/4 length sleeves, long sleeves. I used to use different color hangers, but now my hangers are all black.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon April 12, 2012 at 9:13 am #

      You have the closet I wish I had. I start off okay, grouping clothes according to color or season, and then it all ends up a jumbled mess 😦

  3. Selena Robins Musings April 12, 2012 at 11:19 am #

    Your blog titles intrigue me. LOL

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventures in De-Cluttering « The Chick Dick Mysteries - April 25, 2012

    […] 3. De-clutter the 4 junk drawers in my home – see Junk Drawers and Anal in the Bathroom […]

Talk to me ;)

