Most Loved Childhood Books – The Contented Little Pussy Cat

23 Apr

Growing up, I was fortunate to be surrounded by books. I can still remember the incredible feeling of losing myself in a book, traveling to a new place, another time, and inviting wonderful characters into my head.

The Contented Little Pussy Cat

I managed to keep my original copy of The Contented Little Pussy Cat by Frances Ruth Keller,  published by an obscure NY publishing company called Platt & Munk in 1949.

Because I loved it, the book is in rough shape, as you can see by the photo. The spine is gone, the end papers are torn, and I’m afraid somebody — probably me, but maybe my sister, I’ll blame it on her — scribbled on the back pages with a ball point pen.

This book runs as high as $60 at AbeBooks.com in good condition.

Little Abner is a lovable cat, happy and good- natured. His neighbours — Mrs. Brown Sparrow, Mr. Black Crow, and Mr. White Bunny — wonder how he can be so happy all the time. This perplexes them so much that they finally decide to ask him his secret.

“I think I’m always happy,” says Abner, “because I never feel sorry about what happened yesterday nor do I worry about what might happen tomorrow.”

Smart cat.

Do you have a favorite childhood book? Do you still own it? What did you love most about it?

16 Responses to “Most Loved Childhood Books – The Contented Little Pussy Cat”

  1. Selena Robins Musings April 23, 2012 at 1:22 am #

    Angela of Angel Court was one of my favorite childhood books. I loved it, because it was about two sisters who lived in a neighborhood similar to where I had lived, and they had a great connection with each other and with their community. My favorite character was the youngest sister, feisty, red-headed, freckled little girl with pig tails who was highly opinionated, got into a lot of mischief but had a heart of gold and was witty as hell for her age. Love those type of characters.

    I couldn’t find my copy and I searched all over the Internet, old books stores, no luck. I had mentioned it to my friend Jen and she managed to find a copy on E-bay and she bought it for me. I treasure this book and have re-read it, and laughed at Angela’s high spirited little sister to this day, and can easily see her as an adult. I recognize her for some reason. LOL Got to love childhood books.

    I also loved Anne of Green Gables and because I had a much older sister, I pinched her Valley of the Dolls book and read that when I was 10. Oh, my! that was quite the book for a 10 year old. LOL

    • nancyelizabethlauzon April 23, 2012 at 9:41 am #

      Geez, Angela reminds me of somebody … hmmmm…. LOL – the spiciest book I read when I was 10 was Gwen Bristow’s Jubilee Trail!

      • Selena Robins Musings April 24, 2012 at 12:01 am #

        Now who could she remind you of? LOL My other favorite childhood books are all written in Italian. I still have some of them, brings back fond memories of my mom reading them to me. 🙂

  2. 4amWriter April 23, 2012 at 4:25 am #

    Ferdinand by Munro Leaf was my fave childhood book. I refer to it a lot as an adult mainly because of the fairly global message from which we all could benefit. The importance of being true to oneself. I don’t still own it, but my mother is a book collector and I borrow her copy when I need to… 🙂

    • nancyelizabethlauzon April 23, 2012 at 9:42 am #

      That book was mentioned in the movie Blind Side, I think. I know I read it at some point, but I’d love to get a copy some time. Thanks for the reminder, I’m going to keep my eyes open. Something else to shop for!

  3. lesleycrewe April 23, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    I remember that book!!!!!!!! God, every time I see these books I’m right back on Melrose Ave. And excuse me but how do you know I scribbled on the book? Where’s your proof? Seeing these books remind me of mom.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon April 23, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

      Yeah, we were lucky to receive all of those books, weren’t we? And sorry, I have no proof. It just seems like something you would have done, LOL.

  4. Brianna Soloski April 23, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    My favorite book when I was a kid was Mandy by Julie Andrews (yes, Mary Poppins). I wish I still had a copy of it. I also loved The Worldwide Dessert Contest by Dan Elish.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon April 23, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

      I had no idea Julie Andrews wrote a children’s book! Thanks for stopping by!

      • Brianna Soloski April 23, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

        She’s written a few, I think. Mandy is probably 3rd grade and up.

  5. Lafemmeroar April 23, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    I loved the Pippi Longstocking books.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon April 23, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

      I haven’t seen one of those in years … I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for that one, too!

      • Selena Robins Musings April 24, 2012 at 12:03 am #

        Sounds like we need to hit a few vintage book shops to stock up on our childhood books. That should be next on our list. 🙂

    • Selena Robins Musings April 24, 2012 at 12:02 am #

      How could I forget Pippi Longstocking, since my nickname (which has stuck to this day, thank you brothers) is Pippi. LOL

      • nancyelizabethlauzon April 24, 2012 at 9:32 am #

        Okay, that’s it, you’re in trouble. I’m calling you Pippi from now on 😉

      • Selena Robins Musings April 24, 2012 at 10:06 am #

        I’m surprised you didn’t catch on. My brothers were calling me that at the book signing. Lucky for me you didn’t hear, and now I just opened my mouth. LOL

Talk to me ;)

