Adventures in De-Cluttering

25 Apr

After 10 weeks, The Clutter F**k Club comes to a close with this last post. At the beginning of January, I set out to de-clutter my life. In chronological order, here’s is a list of those eight goals:

1. Lose 40 pounds – see Dieting and Diet Update: Phantom Bacon

2. Deal with gargantuan collection of photo albums that stare at me every time I throw on a load of laundry – see Your Photograph Collection

3. De-clutter the 4 junk drawers in my home – see Junk Drawers and Anal in the Bathroom

4. Stay away from toxic people – see Toxic Friends

5. Get rid of out-dated electronics – see No Country for Old Electronics

6. Beautify my linen closet – see Sexy Linen Closets

7. Re-organize my clothes closet – see Coming Out of the Closet

8. Respect the family budget – see That’s Money, Honey

Here is the status of those goals:

1. I have 2 pounds left to lose. I look and feel great. I could give up now, but I’m too stubborn and anal. The closer I get to finishing this diet — sorry, the buzzword is ‘changing my lifestyle eating habits’ — the harder it is. Anyway, this is the goal I most wanted, so I’m proud of myself.

2. Because this is a gargantuan collection, it’s a gargantuan task. Mostly because hubby took too many pictures in the ‘pre-digital’ age, so I enlisted his help scanning select old photos into three new digital frames, which I love. Instead of hiding in a dusty old album, our photos are on display where we can enjoy them. It’s sort of like having your entire life flash before you, but in a good way. Going forward, all of our photos will be uploaded to the digital frames, then downloaded onto a portable hard drive for safekeeping. My original plan was to pitch the old albums, but there’s such an emotional attachment, it’s not an easy decision. Currently they’re residing in the garage, but I’ll have to move them before winter. So this is a work in progress.

3. I have one drawer left to de-clutter – my bedside table drawer. For some reason I procrastinate with this one.

4. The toxic people in my life have already been removed, I’m happy to say. But that’s only because I’m older and wiser. This is an ongoing goal that kicks in whenever I meet somebody new (whether in person or online). I pay close attention to any red flags and act accordingly.

5. Since I would never turn my old PC into a planter for the garden, this goal required one afternoon of research online, which resulted in locating the place that deals with outdated electronics. In my community it’s a special waste depot.

6. My linen closet isn’t beautiful yet, but it’s better. I still haven’t mastered the whole fitted sheet folding thing. That’ll take practice.

7. I purged my closet in anticipation of my upcoming cross-border shopping trips, so this was fun. I got rid of anything that didn’t fit, was too old or out of style. I’m hoping to build a more sustainable wardrobe.

8. This is also a work in progress, but I have my very own trainer/mentor — my husband. He keeps me in check. Currently I’m trying to pay down my credit card balance to keep it under control — before I go on my shopping trips.

If you set some goals for yourself, whatever they were, I hope you’ve completed them too, or are on your way to doing so. I’d love to hear your clutter stories!

4 Responses to “Adventures in De-Cluttering”

  1. 4amWriter April 25, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    My big goal this spring was to organize my study. I finally did it yesterday. It’s amazing the peaceful feeling that came with that task. Also, I think it might have re-energized my creative spirit. Suddenly, all I want to do is hunker down in my own little room and write! I haven’t had that urge in quite a while, so this is a really special feeling for me.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon April 25, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

      Good for you. I think it’s really important to have a writing space that isn’t too cramped or disorganized .. it can almost make your writing feel cramped and disorganized 🙂

  2. nannygoats April 27, 2012 at 12:58 am #

    This has got to be the most amazing progress update I have ever seen in my life. You have come so far on your goals. I’ve never seen anybody stick to all of them like that. And 38 pounds? Wow! Congratulations on your determination. You rock, girl.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon April 27, 2012 at 10:06 am #

      Aw, shucks, you’re making me blush. Some would call it determination, some would call it anal stubbornness (and have). Either way, it’s a quality I’m proud of, since I don’t give up easily!

Talk to me ;)

