My Life in Clothes – Ugly Uniform

2 May

Do you remember some of the outfits you wore when you were younger? Do you wish you still had them? I do. Even though some clothes were hideous, I thought they were cool at the time, and they defined my style — and the decade. Interestingly, the essence of my style hasn’t changed as much as I thought. Frightening, isn’t it? 

Circa 1960's - in school uniform

Willingdon Elementary

Yes, I’m so old that I wore a school uniform, and my school looked like a prison. The uniform consisted of a black or dark navy blue box pleated tunic, worn with a white short or long sleeved blouse and a sash or belt. I wore tights or knee socks with my black leather oxfords. On important occasions a school tie was worn also. On gym days the girls wore a pair of ‘bloomers’, which actually looked like navy blue underpants.

Just for the record, I didn’t think this uniform was cool. I simply had no choice but to wear it, since kids didn’t have much of a voice in those days. I was aware even back then that there is nothing stylish about a black, box-pleated tunic and white blouse.

I grew up in Montreal, at a time when Montreal was an amazing city. Now it’s a shadow of its former self. I can say that since I was born there.

I thought my Cat’s Eye glasses were pretty cool. Later on they became hideous, but I think they’re actually back in style, or soon will be. If you wait long enough, everything old is new again.

An interesting note about my elementary school above. Same school that William Shatner a.k.a. Captain Kirk attended. Pretty cool, huh? I LOVED Star Trek even before it really caught on. The only thing that got me through Wednesday’s piano lessons was knowing Star Trek was on Wednesday nights and I would get to see Captain Kirk, my very first crush.

7 Responses to “My Life in Clothes – Ugly Uniform”

  1. jimmmyjams May 2, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    Well I don’t want to ruin your crush on the illustrious James Tiberius Kirk, but I absolutely must invite you to see him in my latest video blog. You may never feel the same! 😀

    http://jimmmyjams.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/star-trek-is-weird/

    Jim

    • nancyelizabethlauzon May 3, 2012 at 9:08 am #

      LOL, your video cracked me up! You’re right, Star Trek could be corny at times, and I have to give you a point for mentioning the lack of seat belts — but they didn’t exist in cars either, when I was 10. That’s the fun of the show. It had some amazing insights into future technology — like the communicators that look like today’s cell phones and Uhura’s Bluetooth ear piece, plus having a multicultural crew before it became politically correct — juxtaposed with lame looking computers, a very 60’s sexual attitude and blatant male chauvinism. But we owe the show a lot for paving the way. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      • jimmmyjams May 3, 2012 at 10:36 am #

        My pleasure.

        The multiculturalism was a brave move. I guess I’ll forgive the other future forecast fails (the “fff’s”) 😉

  2. 4amWriter May 4, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    I can’t bear to think about the things I had to wear–I still moan and gripe to my mother for making me wear red corduroy pants with big blue trumpets all over them.

    I have never recovered.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon May 7, 2012 at 9:52 am #

      LOL – I remember desperately wanting a pair of ‘elephant pants’ (a precursor to 70’s flared jeans) and my mother said I would wear them over her dead body. She eventually relented, and I got a pair with a psychedelic blue and red pattern. At the time I thought they were awesome, but I’m sure they looked horrible.

  3. 2GirlsonaBench (@2GirlsOnaBench) May 4, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    Those glasses are definitely awesome!

    • nancyelizabethlauzon May 7, 2012 at 9:54 am #

      I know, huh? I wish I’d kept them just so my daughters could have a chuckle.

Talk to me ;)

