Guest Blog: Character Interview & Contest – What a Girl Wants by Selena Robins

14 May

Samhain Publishing

WHAT A GIRL WANTS by Selena Robins

Warning: Side effects may include but not limited to, spontaneous, uncontrollable laughter, hot flashes and dangerous chocolate cravings. Contents include one kick-ass heroine and a sex-on-legs hero whose kiss could singe the eyebrows off a mannequin. Can be read in bed with someone special or a BOB (battery operated boyfriend.) Please note: Batteries not included.

Travel journalist Maddie Saunders has a new attitude, and wants two new accessories to go with it. One, turn her triple-X fantasies into reality with Mr. Sex-On-Legs—her friend, Alex Donovan. And two, find her biological father to see if her gene pool has a deep end. She never expected fulfilling both wishes would take her life down a drastically different path.

Alex, an investigative reporter, grits his teeth when he accepts a joint assignment to Hawaii with Maddie. He’s vowed to never get involved with any woman he can’t walk away from. Maddie falls under the heading of “Look, but don’t touch.” Trouble is, she excels at giving him a hard time—in more ways than one.

He manages to fend off her guerilla seduction tactics until a bone-melting kiss throws his resolve into the ocean. Complicated? Absolutely. Especially when he discovers the real reason they were sent to the island….

                                                                                                                                                             

N: Today’s post features an exciting contest **details below** and an interview with the hero and heroine of What a Girl Wants, Alex Donovan and Maddie Saunders. Welcome to my blog, and thanks for being here, both of you.  Maddie, what was your journey like in What A Girl Wants?

Alex Donovan

Maddie Saunders

M: The plane trip to Hawaii, which is where most of the story takes place was uneventful—

A: I have to interrupt here. Uneventful? Is that what you call it?

M: Come on, Alex, even you have to admit it was classic. Besides, you laughed at the prank I pulled on you. Anyway, as for your initial question, Nancy, I enjoyed the adventures created for us, especially the humorous moments, but what’s a romance without heartache, physical pain, angst and conflict? I’m not complaining, especially since I know Selena will be reading this interview and she has total control of our future.

N: What about you, Alex?

A: There’s no other book I’d rather have been created in, even with all the pain we both went through. Maddie’s right, the humor helped a lot, especially when it got real serious and sorrowful.

N: If you each had a free day and your only mission was to enjoy yourself, what would you do?

M: You read the book, Nancy, what do you think? *wink* Okay, seriously, I do love my career as a travel journalist, and I’ve been to a lot of exciting locales, but coming home and staying put for a few days, sitting around in my PJ’s, no make-up and hanging out with my friends, enjoying a glass of wine and chatting about our adventures is always a blast.

A: What Maddie said, there are some things we both agree on, that’s one of them.

N: What’s your philosophy on life?

A: ‘Live without regrets’.

M: ‘Life’s a beach and then you have sex on it’. Not that I’m a nymphomaniac or anything, but, after all the angst, conflict and pain and the dysfunctional family Selena created for me, I have to rely on my sense of humor and not take everything so seriously…like someone else I know.

N: What scares you?

M: Needles. However, what’s really scary is when Selena gets too anal about editing and polishing. Did you know she left me in a certain position for months, I got a cramp. Thankfully, she finished the scene. Good thing I have stamina.

N: What about you, Alex, what scares you?

A: Besides the fact that sometimes I can get inside Maddie’s head and figure out what she’s thinking? Reckless cruelty, corruption, hypocrisy and knowing there are kids out there who desperately need help, but the system keeps letting them down.

M: I agree with Alex. I just tend to bury those things, because some of what he said has affected my life and the people I care about. Believe me, I’ve spent years in Selena’s draft folder, having to deal with that, until Selena yanked the story out of draft mode, stopped editing and helped me overcome my fears.

A: Uhm, Maddie, you’re still petrified of needles.

M: Uhm, Alex, you’re still scared of assisted showers.

A: I wouldn’t say scared. Besides, we need to move on before you give away too much of the plot.

N: Which of your character traits is most important to you and why? Maddie, you first.

M: My persistence and my quirky sense of humor. I had no choice, the way my life was written, if I didn’t find the humor in it, I’d be on a therapist’s couch for life.

N: What’s your biggest fault?

M: My persistence and my quirky sense of humor. It did drive Alex crazy at times.

A: It caused me bodily injury, Maddie.

M: It wasn’t my fault, I didn’t write the scene that way. Although, knowing me, I probably would have suggested that scene, but without the injury of course. *LOL*

N: Alex, your turn. Which of your character traits is most important to you and why?

M: Can I answer that for him?

A: Nancy already knows what you’re going to say, that I’m uptight, suspicious—

M: A perfectionist, a health food-freak—

A: Thanks for your help, Mads, but I can finish answering this question. My integrity, having and living by an ethical code of sound moral principles. I’m self-disciplined, as an investigative reporter this is essential, so I pride myself on my ability to remain focused, alert and possess a lot of self-control.

M: Well, there is all that of course. However, as for your self control—

A: What’s your next question for me, Nancy?

N: What’s your biggest fault?

M: Can I please answer this one?

A: Not a chance, Doll. Disclaimer: for any women out there who takes offense to me calling Maddie doll, there’s a good reason why I sometimes call her that.

M: There is, you can find out about it in chapter one.

A: To answer your question, Nancy, I’d say my biggest fault is that I can sometimes be stubborn and moody.

M: You think?

N: What are your favorite foods?

M: Chocolate and bacon. Not together….at least I haven’t dipped any bacon in chocolate as of yet. Those two things are in a food group of their own and are guaranteed rocket ships to delectable cloud nine.

A: Food that won’t clog my arteries.

N: Alex, what do you admire most about Maddie?

A: Her persistence and sense of humor.

N: Maddie what do you admire most about Alex?

M: He’s not perfect and he doesn’t wear a cape or leap off buildings, but he does have a lot of hero qualities that I admire, namely, his integrity, loyalty and ethics. Even though I love to pull a lot of pranks on him, on the whole he’s showed a lot of patience. Don’t let that get to your head, Alex, I said on the whole, you did get cranky more than once. Now, about that self control—

A: Thanks for having us, Nancy. It was a pleasure chatting with you.

M: Thanks, Nancy. Since you know Selena well, can you tell her to hurry up with her current work in progress? See, Alex and I make an appearance, and I really do want to know what happens to the hero and heroine of that book, and of course, I’d love to wave hi to the readers who read our journey in What A Girl Wants.

N: I’ll let her know. Thanks again!

**Contest Details**

Three Prizes to be won –

2 Gift certificates, compliments of Selena Robins.

1 autographed paper back book of Selena’s debut novel, Sabrina’s Destiny.

To Enter: Comment on the blog, or feel free to ask Maddie or Alex any question you like, and your name will be entered into a draw.

Double your chances of winning by signing up and following Selena’s blog: http://selenarobinsmusings.com/

Triple your chances of winning by linking this blog post to your blog or putting the link up on your facebook page or Twitter.

About Selena Robins:

Selena Robins writes genre-defying romances, with a sprinkle of mystery, suspense, heavy on the comedy, plenty of snap on the dialogue and heavy on the steam for the sexy. A chocolate guru, Selena loves to dance with her dog, sing into her hairbrush and write in her PJ’s. In love with her family, friends, books, laughter, hockey, debating and red wine (sometimes all at the same time). Selena loves writing sassy heroines and hot heroes (the ones your mamma warned you about, but secretly wished she’d dated a few in her life.

To learn more about Selena Robins and her books, and read an excerpt of What A Girl Wants, please stop by and visit her website at: https://selenarobins.com/ or stop by and chat with her on her blog: http://selenarobinsmusings.com/

45 Responses to “Guest Blog: Character Interview & Contest – What a Girl Wants by Selena Robins”

  1. 4amWriter May 14, 2012 at 5:11 am #

    Sounds like a very interesting book. Love the witty banter between the two characters. Sassy heroines are the best, IMO.

    • Selena Robins Musings May 14, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      Thanks, 4amWriter. I loved writing Maddie and Alex’s journey, because one of my favorite themes is friends to lovers, of course torturing them along the way. LOL

      Glad you liked the interview and nice to meet you.

  2. ellisv May 14, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    Good discussion with Maddie and Alex. The book sounds like a lot of fun. I’m looking forward to it!

    • Selena Robins Musings May 14, 2012 at 10:16 am #

      Thanks for stopping by, Ellisy. Glad you enjoyed the interview. The book was a ton of fun to write and don’t listen to Maddie,she wasn’t stuck in the draft folder that long….okay, well, maybe, but it’s due to my self-editing, polishing OCD tendencies. LOL

  3. LINDA B May 14, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    MADDIE SURE HAD ALEX’S NUMBER SELENA!!! WILL THERE BE A SEQUEL?

    • Selena Robins Musings May 14, 2012 at 10:17 am #

      Hi, Linda, thanks for dropping by. Maddie and Alex will appear in my work in progress, so you can see what they’ve been up to. As for a sequel, there will be a book centered around Maddie’s close friend, Reece, but the book will stand alone.

  4. blacksnaked May 14, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    Fun discussion! Looking forward to the book!

  5. Jodi May 14, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    Humourous and hot, what more could you want? Looking forward to reading this book!

  6. Rita Wray May 14, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Sounds like a fun book, can’t wait to read it.

  7. Jen May 14, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    I read Maddie & Alex’s story and loved it. It was fast paced and fun…with a little mystery sprinkled in! What I’d love to read about is Alex’s awesome sister Jen! And I must say I look forward to reading Reece’s story! Good Luck Selena.

    • Selena Robins Musings May 14, 2012 at 10:53 am #

      Glad you loved the book, Jen. I’ve had readers write to me and ask about the minor characters and if they’ll see them again, never say never I say. I love revisited characters, so stay tuned. 🙂

  8. Cheri Oggy May 14, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    I loved the ‘interview’ with Alex and Maddie!! The story sounds fantastic; can’t wait to read it.

  9. smartmouthtexan May 14, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    Looks like I’ll be adding more to my must be read pile.

    Thanks
    Ash

  10. Jessica Subject May 14, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

    A great interview with Alex and Maddie! The humor from the book comes though in the interview as well. 🙂

    All the best!

    • Selena Robins Musings May 14, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

      Thanks, Jessica. Glad you enjoyed the interview and I know you appreciate their banter since you read the book. Thanks as well for re-tweeting the interview.

  11. MicheleAnn Oboyle May 14, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    How does maddie and alex like hawaii and do they trhink they would go back some time in the future

    • Selena Robins Musings May 14, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

      Hi, MicheleAnn, thanks for dropping by. They both loved Hawaii, although, a few things happened that dampened the tropical beauty of it all. Yes, they are going back to the Island as they made some friends there and of course, Maddie will be getting into some mischief…again. 🙂

  12. JackieW May 14, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    An interesting blog today….loved the conversation between the book characters. Makes me want to get the book to read.Thanks for the info.

    • Selena Robins Musings May 14, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

      Thank you, Jackie, glad you enjoyed the interview. Glad it enticed you to read the book. 🙂

  13. Joye May 14, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    I have enjoyed reading your other books and this one sounds really good.

  14. Denise A. Agnew May 14, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    As always, an awesome blog. You’ve got one heck of a sense of humor my friend!

    • Selena Robins Musings May 14, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

      Thanks, Denise for stopping by and for spreading the word about this blog. I appreciate that you get my sense of humor. LOL

  15. tore923 May 14, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    Thanks for the giveaway. I really want to read this book. It sounds very good.

    • Selena Robins Musings May 14, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

      Thanks for dropping by, Tore. Another phrase that is music to a writer’s ears — “I really want to read this book.” 🙂 A symphony.

  16. Monica May 14, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    Enjoyed the interview. Would love to read the book. I want to go to Hawaii soon, is there lots about Hawaii tourist spots in the book?

    • Selena Robins Musings May 14, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

      Hi, Monica, thanks for dropping by. The Island where Maddie and Alex spend most of their time is a fictional island in Hawaii, however, it is based on a small island in Hawaii, in which my son had visited, so he took a lot of pictures and made a lot of notes so I can use it in this book. Maddie and Alex also spend time in Maui, and yes, on both islands there are tourist spots. Especially beautiful and so much fun to write was Maddie’s adventure on the Summit in Maui and learning and writing about Hawaii’s culture, food, jewelry, scenery and flowers.

      I’ve been told by more than one reader than when they read the book, they felt like they were on a tropical island.

  17. Mary Preston May 14, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    I had to laugh at the warning. A fun interview.

    • Selena Robins Musings May 14, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

      Thanks, Mary, I appreciate you stopping by and supporting the blog post. Glad you had some laughs, that’s what it’s all about. 🙂

  18. SHARON BAKER May 14, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    LOVE A GOOD MYSTERY. PLEASE KEEP WRITING THEM.

  19. Pat Cochran May 14, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

    I love interviews, especially those that feature the heroine and hero
    of the book. I always enjoy such a good laugh over the confronta-
    tional dialogue!

    BTW, thanks for the opportunity to win a book!

    Pat Cochran
    p-cochran@juno.com

    • Selena Robins Musings May 15, 2012 at 10:06 am #

      Hi, Pat, thanks for stopping by and I’m glad you enjoyed the interview. Writing these two characters was loads of fun for me, because of their relationship and the differences in their personalities.

  20. DebraG May 15, 2012 at 6:00 am #

    Sounds intriguing, I will be looking for it.

  21. Trix May 16, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    Maddie, what *do* you think of this whole new chocolate-and-bacon trend? There’s quite a bit of chocolate-covered bacon where I come from, and even a bacon-maple ice cream flavor called Vegan’s Nightmare. Is it true that everything goes better with bacon, or does it just seem gimmicky to you?

    • Selena Robins Musings May 16, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

      Hi, Trix, nice to meet you. You mean there’s a bacon and chocolate trend out there and nobody told me? Alex probably hid the articles and links, he’s obsessed about eating healthy. What’s not healthy about bacon and chocolate? So one could potentially clog the arteries, but the other one cleans them out. See, it all works for everyone. That’s what I’m all about, balance.

      Nothing gimmicky about bacon. 🙂

      Nice talking to you. I love your name!

      Maddie

  22. cky15 May 16, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    I reall liked the interview sounds like you enjoy your traveling but as you say “Home” is always the best place to be. I will have to check out your books. I like these interviews because that gives me an a look at the author. I am always looking for new authors to add to my to be read list. Thanks.

    • Selena Robins Musings May 16, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

      Hi, cky, so glad you enjoyed the interview. You’re another one whose words are music to a writer’s ears….looking for new authors and checking out our books.

      Hope to chat with you again.

  23. nancyelizabethlauzon May 18, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    Contest Update: Trix and Jen have each won a gift certificate, and the winner of the autographed paperback copy of Sabrina’s Destiny is MicheleAnn Oboyle. Congratulations to the contest winners, and a big thanks to everyone who commented. Hope you come by and visit my blog again soon!

Talk to me ;)

