A Robin’s Nest

4 Jun

Wanted to share what I recently discovered in a tree outside my upstairs window — a nest, complete with Mommy Robin and her three beautiful blue eggs.

The nest is very close to the window. Whenever I take a peek through the blinds, Mommy seems to feel my presence and gives me the hairy eyeball. If I make too much noise, she flies away. I didn’t realize birds could hear that well, until hubby pointed out that robins can hear worms wiggling underground. Point taken.

So I try to be stealth-like whenever I sneak a peek, because I don’t want her to freak out and leave the nest permanently. Sometimes I discover the nest empty and I worry she won’t be back. But she always returns. I guess even Mommy Robins need to take a break to eat once in a while.

I don’t know much about birds, or their maternal instinct. I suspect it’s probably stronger than some human mothers, so hopefully she’ll hang in there. The eggs should be hatching in a couple of weeks, by my calculations.

4 Responses to “A Robin’s Nest”

  1. Kathleen Kaska June 4, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    I’m a sucker for anything bird, so I really enjoyed your post. It takes a lot for a bird to abandon her nest, especially after the eggs have hatched, so I think you’re safe.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon June 6, 2012 at 9:26 am #

      Thanks, Kathleen! I’m very excited about this event, I have such a close ‘bird’s eye’ view – yes, I had to say it …

  2. 4amWriter June 6, 2012 at 5:28 am #

    My mom has a nest of robins right outside her squeaky screen door. The mama bird always flies away anytime someone comes to her house. Can’t wait for the eggs to hatch!

Talk to me ;)

