My Life in Clothes – Suede Jacket

6 Jun

Do you remember some of the outfits you wore when you were younger? Do you wish you still had them? I do. Even though some clothes were hideous, I thought they were cool at the time, and they defined my style — and the decade. Interestingly, the essence of my style hasn’t changed as much as I thought. Frightening, isn’t it?

This is one of my favorite photos of me and my mother. It was taken in September 1975, and I was headed to the airport on my way to Acadia University, wearing wide leg jeans and a gawdy polyester orange and brown print blouse, plus MY FAVORITE dark orange suede jacket.

How stupid was I not to keep that jacket? Don’t miss the blouse or the jeans, but that jacket … hope it’s still around, somehow, somewhere.

I love the outfit my mother’s wearing. Very 70’s housewife chic. And her satchel-styled bag is back in style this season, except in a different color – neon.

2 Responses to “My Life in Clothes – Suede Jacket”

  1. Selena Robins Musings June 6, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    Great picture, Nancy! Is this the coat you’re trying to find in a vintage shop? Nobody real keeps their clothes for long periods of time, although, I don’t know why, they seem to come back in style every decade or so.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon June 7, 2012 at 8:23 am #

      I actually found the coat on eBay – it’s identical, except it’s dark blue. And a tad tight – I have to pour myself into it, LOL!

Talk to me ;)

