Most Loved Childhood Books – Arty the Smarty

11 Jun

Growing up, I was fortunate to be surrounded by books. I can still remember the incredible feeling of losing myself in a book, traveling to a new place, another time, and inviting wonderful characters into my head.

Arty the Smarty by Faith McNulty (Grosset & Dunlap) was first published in 1964, but I bought this copy for my daughters in the early 80′s. I loved the title, the funny drawings and the humorous, upbeat story.

The hero, Arty, is a smart a**. He doesn’t swim in the same direction as the other fish. As a geeky bookworm with coke-bottle glasses and an attitude, I could totally relate.

In good condition, this book can fetch as high as $50 on vintage book sites.

Talk to me ;)

