My Life in Clothes – Beige & Brown

3 Jul

Do you remember some of the outfits you wore when you were younger? Do you wish you still had them? I do. Even though some clothes were hideous, I thought they were cool at the time, and they defined my style — and the decade. Interestingly, the essence of my style hasn’t changed as much as I thought. Frightening, isn’t it?

This outfit is pretty boring. In this photo I’m sitting in front of my dorm — Seminary House — at Acadia University. I’m wearing a brown blouse, beige pants, and a beige, belted, cardigan sweater. Not sure about those shoes, but they look rather geeky. And what was I thinking wearing brown socks? I was in a very anal place back then.

I wore a lot of beige and brown in those days. Those colors were trendy in the seventies. The problem is, I continued to wear them long after they went out of fashion. I can’t be accused of being a trend setter.

It wasn’t until my daughters became teenagers that things changed. They would roll their eyes at some of my outfits and insisted I wear more color. You can learn a lot from your kids.

7 Responses to “My Life in Clothes – Beige & Brown”

  1. Kathleen Kaska July 3, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    I think you look stylishly cute! I have a few of those beige outfits I don’t have the heart to discard. Color? What’s color? Peering into my closet is like looking into the mouth of a dark cave.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon July 3, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

      LOL – I’ve moved on from just beige to anything green. It seems I go through phases where I wear one color for a while.

  2. Stacy S. Jensen July 3, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    I love the outfit. I’m a beige/brown and black/gray kinda girl still. I try to wear some color. I may have went overboard with the mustard colored dress, but hey “I’m trying.”

    • nancyelizabethlauzon July 3, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

      Thanks, Stacy! I love the basic colors too, you can’t go wrong with them.

  3. Jewel Divas Style July 4, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    I still have the best stuff from when I was a kid. I was so trendy with my big knit cardigans and floral skirts that mum made, and my $5 tshirts with all sorts of pictures on the front.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon July 5, 2012 at 9:23 am #

      You’re so lucky you kept that stuff! I’m kicking myself that i didn’t keep at least some of the pieces.

  4. Selena Robins Musings July 5, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    I always wore bright colors, I was odd that way. LOL My mom would NOT let us wear dark colors or black, she hated black on young girls. I think it’s because she had to wear it her entire childhood, she was raised in an orphanage and that’s what they had to wear. She was a great dressmaker and made all our clothes. I didn’t appreciate it as much as I do now. You know, when you’re a kid, you think homemade things aren’t as good as store bought.

Talk to me ;)

