My Life In Clothes – Playing Caps

23 Aug

Do you remember some of the outfits you wore when you were younger? Do you wish you still had them? I do. Even though some clothes were hideous, I thought they were cool at the time, and they defined my style — and the decade. Interestingly, the essence of my style hasn’t changed as much as I thought. Frightening, isn’t it?

Here I am at Acadia University playing caps in somebody’s dorm room. The rules are simple. The object of this game is to flip a bottle cap into a glass of water approximately 10 feet away. If you miss, you have to take a drink of beer. You’ll notice the old style beer bottles, called ‘stubbies’. When I think back on my university days, playing caps and drinking beer is what I remember most, since I spent a lot of time doing it. God only knows how I graduated.

I’m wearing a circa 1975 pair of wide-leg jeans, a white blouse and some kind of vest, which I guess I thought made me look sexy.

Something is happening with my hair, because it looks straighter than usual. Maybe I tried a new conditioner or hadn’t washed it in a while. And the climate in Nova Scotia was less humid than Montreal, so my curls calmed down. Also I’m wearing too much blush — or maybe I’ve had too much beer. Either way, this was how I spent a typical Saturday night back in the day.

8 Responses to “My Life In Clothes – Playing Caps”

  1. Selena Robins Musings August 23, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    LOL I don’t even know what caps is. Wide leg jeans are better than those skinny jeans that are popular right now.

  2. Krista Phillips August 23, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    aaaah. remember it well. Mind you, it seems to me that the time came when we forewent the water in the glass, and threw the caps right into our beer glasses, fished the caps out, and then drank the beer! ewwwwww! I remember those wide leg jeans well, not particularly flattering on any of us, but we were “on trend”. I LOVED your vest though, and remember that!

    • nancyelizabethlauzon August 23, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      I remember that too, I can’t believe we drank our beer with dirty caps floating in it!

  3. Rachelle Lerner August 23, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    When did Beaver become Arcadia? I never drank beer in college.

  4. 4amWriter August 29, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    I never played caps, but I played Beer Die, which uses a ping pong table and you have to get the die in the opposite team’s beer–if you make it, they have to chug it. Other silly rules applied, but sounds similar to caps.

    Love your jeans. Iused to wear vests like that, too. You must have so much fun going through your pics and trying to remember that day. 🙂

Talk to me ;)

