Tasty Tuesday: Suicide Chicken Wings

28 Aug

Excerpt from A Few Dead Men, a Chick Dick Mystery:

The Split Crow was packed on Friday night, as usual. Darcy and Archie were shown to a small table next to the railing that edged the raised floor overlooking the bar.

“I’m not really hungry,” Archie announced across the table. “Are you?”

Darcy looked up from the menu. She’d been salivating over the possibilities—calamari or roasted red pepper and feta dip for starters, followed by the burger platter or the seafood chowder. She hadn’t eaten since breakfast.

Wasn’t this a dinner date?

“Oh.”

“I had a late lunch. I think I’ll just have a couple of Keith’s.” Archie kept looking over the top of her head, and she turned around to see what was so interesting. A poker tournament played out on the television hanging from the ceiling.

The waiter came by and took their order for drinks. “Anything to eat?”

“Not for me,” Archie said. “Dar?”

She should order whatever she wanted. It would be stupid not to. But she would feel even more stupid being the only one at the table eating.

“I’ll have the wings,” she said. “A half-dozen.”

“What kind of sauce?” asked the waiter.

“Suicide.”

The waiter gathered up the menus and left.

“You sure that’s all you want?” Archie asked. “Go ahead, order whatever you want, if you’re hungry.”

“I’m fine.”

“I’m glad you came out with me tonight. I wasn’t sure you’d want to.”

“Neither was I.”

Suicide Chicken Wings

2 ½ cups Frank’s red hot sauce
2 tablespoons garlic powder
2 chicken bouillon cubes (or powder)
1 teaspoon pepper
½ teaspoon white pepper
2 tablespoons Tabasco sauce
5 ounces barbecue sauce (any brand you like)
5 ounces honey garlic barbecue sauce
2 tablespoons cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon chili powder
¼ cup butter
4 tablespoons brown sugar
5 lbs chicken wings ( tips removed & split in half.)

Mix all sauce ingredients in saucepan and heat to melt butter.
Deep fry wings in small batches and mix with sauce.

You’re invited to stop by the following blogs for more delicious recipes:

Antioxidant Little Pricks by Selena Robins

Simple Stuffed Figs by PG Forte

11 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Suicide Chicken Wings”

  1. Denise Hansen August 28, 2012 at 2:08 am #

    Hmmm. I will have to try these.

  2. moirakeith August 28, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    Just in time for football season! A good hot wing recipe is always appreciated by my dad.

  3. Selena Robins Musings August 28, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    Love this excerpt, but you already know I love this book. 🙂

    Those look delicious and since I’m a huge fan of spicy food, double delicious points. Will have to give these a try.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon August 28, 2012 at 10:20 am #

      Aww, you’re so sweet … Darcy told me she loves these =)

      • Selena Robins Musings August 28, 2012 at 11:38 am #

        Just make sure you tell Darcy that you can’t share with her, since you don’t like hot and spicy….well, in food anyway 😉

  4. PG Forte August 28, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    I’m not a huge fan of hot and spicy either, Nancy, but these sound delicious!

  5. Selena Robins Musings August 28, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    You gals all write hot and spicy but you don’t eat it? Amateurs. LOL The hotter the better for me. Except I’ve learned my lesson with habenero peppers. Wear gloves!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Antioxidant Little Pricks « Selena Robins Musings - September 3, 2012

    […] Suicide Chicken Wings by Nancy Lauzon […]

Talk to me ;)

