Most Loved Childhood Books – The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken

5 Sep

Growing up, I was fortunate to be surrounded by books. I can still remember the incredible feeling of losing myself in a book, traveling to a new place, another time, and inviting wonderful characters into my head.

The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken (Jonathan Cape, 1962) is probably my all time favorite. I still remember getting it for Christmas, and the look on my mother’s face when I first clapped eyes on the book. She knew I would love it, and she was right. It is spooky and haunting, in a ‘not-too-scary’ way.

I misplaced my original copy — a crime, I know. So I recently acquired this original, first edition hardcover copy from a British bookseller on eBay. The book is still available in a revised format on Amazon for next to nothing, but I wanted the book jacket I remembered as a child. I won’t tell you how much it cost unless you ply me with wine, then I might be persuaded to spill.

6 Responses to “Most Loved Childhood Books – The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken”

  1. kathleenkaskawrites September 5, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    This is one I haven’t read. I’ll put it on my list. The book cover is beautiful by the way.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon September 6, 2012 at 10:57 am #

      You’ll enjoy it, and if you have a young girl in your life, get her a copy, she’ll love it too!

  2. 4amWriter September 10, 2012 at 1:59 pm #

    I have never read this book, but the kids and I watched the movie recently. Good story!

    • nancyelizabethlauzon September 10, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      OMigosh, there’s a movie? I’ll have to check that out =)

      • 4amWriter September 10, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

        It might have been a made-for-television movie, or something along those lines.

        Do you get Netflix? Because that’s where we found it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Most Loved Childhood Books – Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White « The Chick Dick Mysteries - September 20, 2012

    […] by E. B. White, illustrated by Garth Williams (Dell, 1952) is my all-time favorite book, tied with The Wolves of Willoughby Chase. I loved everything about this book, and it includes my favorite first line of all time: […]

Talk to me ;)

