Men Are From Mars Bars Squares

18 Sep

It’s Tasty Tuesday again, and high time I included a recipe containing CHOCOLATE, since I’m a chocolate junkie from way back. And those who know me are well aware that I prefer FAST & EASY recipes that a monkey could  whip up. Put these 3 words together: CHOCOLATE, FAST & EASY and what do you get?

Men Are From Mars Bars Squares

*Note: Mars Bars have long been available in Canada and have been peanut-free since 2006. The American version of Mars Bars was discontinued in 2002, relaunched in 2010 and contains almonds.

Take 4 Mars Bars and break them up into pieces. Melt them in the microwave with 1/4 cup margarine for 1 or 2 minutes, stirring after one minute.  Stir until smooth. Add 2 1/2 cups of Rice Krispies and mix well. Put in buttered 8 x 8 square pan. Melt 4 Jersey Milk or Hersey Milk Chocolate bars in the microwave for 1 or 2 minutes (use medium heat as chocolate can burn easily) and stir until smooth. Spread on top. Cool and cut into squares. Refrigerate.

You’re invited to stop by the following blogs for more delicious recipes:

Dinner a La Leftovers by Selena Robins

Red Flannel FTW by Pg Forte

Lentil & Sausage Soup by Moira Keith

15 Responses to “Men Are From Mars Bars Squares”

  1. Selena Robins Musings September 18, 2012 at 1:05 am #

    I have got to try this! There’s no gluten in it, so I can have a piece, with a nice cup of tea. Great for Christmas baking as well. thanks!

  2. Jewel Divas Style September 18, 2012 at 3:21 am #

    Mmmmmm chocolate! We have caramel Mars Bars and while I rarely eat them, I think there’s peanuts in them, but can’t be sure. Rice Crispies, known here as Rice Bubbles, and we’ve done stuff like this for years here in Aus. Although I personally haven’t made any in years.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon September 18, 2012 at 6:22 am #

      Rice Bubbles? That’s so funny! I always love trying new cereal and chocolate bars in other countries, since they’re often very different.

  3. buddhafulkat September 18, 2012 at 4:31 am #

    Wow, that recipe looks amazing!

    • nancyelizabethlauzon September 18, 2012 at 6:23 am #

      Yes, and here in Canada a lot of schools are ‘peanut free’ due to allergies, so these are great for that.

  4. kathleenkaskawrites September 18, 2012 at 10:06 am #

    I just ate an oatmeal and fig bar (which I thought was good unit l read this recipe) with my coffee to get me going for my morning jog. The Mars Bars Squares might have been a better choice for a faster run. Thanks Nancy! This recipe is a keeper.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon September 18, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

      Much better than oatmeal and figs, altho I can’t vouch for the nutritional value =)

  5. 4amWriter September 18, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Looks wonderful! Gotta get me some mars bars. 🙂

  6. PG Forte September 18, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    I like that this is so easy. It gives me hope I might actually make it…rather than just eat all the ingredients by themselves before i have any chance to combine them. lol!

    • nancyelizabethlauzon September 18, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

      Don’t laugh, that’s happened! I was too lazy to make them so I just ate the bars separately. (Not all at once)!

  7. moirakeith September 18, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    Those sound scrumptious. I wonder if they will subdue lil zombies? Any ideas on their effectiveness in that arena?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dinner a la Leftovers « Selena Robins Musings - September 20, 2012

    […] Men are from Mars Bars Squares by Nancy Lauzon […]

Talk to me ;)

