Most Loved Childhood Books – Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White

20 Sep

Growing up, I was fortunate to be surrounded by books. I can still remember the incredible feeling of losing myself in a book, traveling to a new place, another time, and inviting wonderful characters into my head.

Okay, I lied. Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White, illustrated by Garth Williams (Dell, 1952) is my all-time favorite book, tied with The Wolves of Willoughby Chase. I loved everything about this book, and it includes my favorite first line of all time: “Where’s Papa going with that ax?” Sheer genius.

I acquired this copy in college when I took a course in Children’s Literature. I was lucky, since it contains Garth Williams illustrations; not every edition does. I also have a hard-copy collector’s edition I bought a few years back. Every kid should read this book. They’ll never kill another spider again.

4 Responses to “Most Loved Childhood Books – Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White”

  1. J. L. Mbewe September 20, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    Well, how young are we going? When I was really little, my favorite book I’d check out all the time was “I know An Old Lady Who Swallowed A Fly…”

    But once I hit fourth grade, I was devouring books, so I don’t know if I could pick my absolute favorite, although, it could be a close tie between Matilda by Roald Dahl or The Black Stallion Series by Walter Farley at that point in my life 🙂

    • nancyelizabethlauzon September 20, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

      So true … it’s almost impossible to pick a favorite book when you’re an avid book worm. Thanks for stopping by =)

  2. 4amWriter September 20, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    Loved this book as well. Although it always stung to read it because I hate when things die. I agree, this is the perfect cure-all for arachnophobia. 🙂

Talk to me ;)

