Tasty Tuesday: Shepherd’s Pie

2 Oct

I can’t believe it’s October already! On this Tasty Tuesday I’m featuring Shepherd’s Pie — also called Cottage pie — one of my family’s favorite meals. I have no idea where the name comes from. Maybe because back in the day mutton was used instead of beef. There are many variations of this dish, but I adapted my mother-in-law’s recipe to suit hubby’s tastes. In other words, no mushrooms or any other vegetable is used except for onion and corn.

Shepherd’s Pie

1 1/2 lbs. lean ground beef

1 small onion, chopped

salt & pepper to taste

2 1/2 cups beef stock

2 tbsp (or more) of Bisto (a gravy thickener) mixed in a bit of cold water to make a smooth paste

1 tbsp. dried parsley

1 tsp. dried basil

1 tsp. steak spice

mashed potatoes

frozen corn

Make a pot of mashed potatoes. Brown ground beef and onion in skillet until beef is crumbly and onion is transparent. Add salt, pepper, herbs and steak spice and cook a few minutes, stirring. Add beef stock. When it comes to a boil, simmer a few minutes, then add Bisto (mixed in cold water). Bring to a simmer again and cook for approx. 5 minutes until thickened. Put in casserole dish. Top with a layer of frozen corn. Top with mashed potatoes. Sprinkle with paprika. Bake in 350 oven for 30 – 40 minutes until brown and bubbly.

You’re invited to stop by the following blogs for more delicious recipes:

Sinfully Delicious Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies by Kimberley Troutte

Two Hours to Thinner Thighs by Selena Robins

Moon Magic by Pg Forte

Aunt Maxine’s Spiced Applesauce Cake by Renee Wildes

15 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Shepherd’s Pie”

  1. trjensen October 2, 2012 at 2:34 am #

    I love shepherd’s pie! I have a great vegetarian recipe for one.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon October 2, 2012 at 10:26 am #

      I think my husband would divorce me if I changed it up, but I love anything vegetarian =)

      • trjensen October 2, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

        Your recipe sounds yummy~

  2. Denise Hansen October 2, 2012 at 4:09 am #

    I make a ground turkey version of shepherds pie that has curry in it. Also you can save time by using mashed potatoes that have been pre-cooked. You can buy those in the grocery store in the produce section.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon October 2, 2012 at 10:27 am #

      What a great idea, pre-cooked potatoes! Sometimes I hesitate to make this cause there’s so much prep work. Thanks for the tip, Denise =)

  3. Selena Robins Musings October 2, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    It’s a wonderful comfort dish. I think back in the day, they used lamb to make this pie in England, at least that’s what my in-laws told me, and they didn’t put vegetables in it. It’s one of those dishes that you can really experiment and put in whatever you like.

    Looks good, Nancy!

    • nancyelizabethlauzon October 2, 2012 at 10:28 am #

      One of my commenters above mentioned a vegetarian version also. Go figure =)

  4. Kimberley Troutte October 2, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    My family would like this one, I’m sure. Thanks, Nancy!

  5. 4amWriter October 2, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    Oh, I love shepherd’s pie. It’s one of my go-to recipes every week becasue my whole family will eat it, even the kids. Shepherd’s pie is my saving grace.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon October 2, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      I know what you mean … both my daughters were very picky eaters, but they always loved this =)

  6. PG Forte October 2, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    you know, I’ve never tried Shepherd’s Pie? Will definitely give this a try!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2 Hours to Thinner Thighs « Selena Robins Musings - October 2, 2012

    […] Shepherd’s Pie by Nancy Lauzon […]

  2. Tasty Tuesday – Aunt Maxine’s Spiced Applesauce Cake « Reneewildes1's Weblog - October 2, 2012

    […] Sinfully Delicious Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies – Kimberley Troutte -http://kimberleytroutte.blogspot.ca/2012/10/tasty-tuesday-sinfully-delicious.html Shepherd’s Pie – Nancy Lauzon – http://chickdickmysteries.com/2012/10/02/tasty-tuesday-shepherds-pie/ […]

Talk to me ;)

