Tasty Tuesday: Pavlova To Die For

9 Oct

I’d like to credit fellow blogger Wendy over at Table for 2 … or More for this lovely photo of Strawberry Pavlova. You have to be careful these days when using other people’s photos, and I don’t want to get sued.

If you’ve never tasted Pavlova, you haven’t lived. A word of caution – it’s SWEET. For those born with a sweet tooth (like me) this is a good thing. But some people prefer their desserts a little tart or forgo dessert altogether, something I find difficult to do. 

This particular recipe is my daughter’s favorite, and I make it for her birthday every year. Nothing else will do. It’s not that hard to make, but you can’t whip it up at the last minute, so a little planning is in order. Enjoy!

Pavlova To Die For

4 egg whites

1 cup sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 tsp vinegar

2 cups whipping cream, whipped

1/2 cup slivered almonds

fresh strawberries, raspberries and/or blueberries

Whip egg whites until they form peaks. Gradually add sugar, vanilla & vinegar. Continue beating until very stiff. Spread on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet, forming a circle about 9″ in diameter. Bake in a 275 degree oven for 1 hour. Turn oven off and leave in for 3 hours to dry. (As the meringue dries, it will spread out and form a larger circle). Once cooled and just before serving, top with whipped cream, fruit and slivered almonds.

You’re invited to stop by the following blogs for more delicious recipes:

Italian Sausage and Vegetable Soup by Moira Keith

Where did the Peanut Go? by Selena Robins

The Besto Pesto Biscuits by PG Forte

11 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Pavlova To Die For”

  1. Jewel Divas Style October 9, 2012 at 1:00 am #

    I lived in Queensland for four years when I was a kid and pavs are all over up there. We ate a lot of them but then I was turned off one day when it was left out a little too long and the merangue got a little slimey.

    No more pav for me!

    • nancyelizabethlauzon October 9, 2012 at 9:41 am #

      LOL – I had the same experience with a gin and tonic once – a few too many =)

  2. Pat F. October 9, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    I LOVE Pavlova! I have a recipe for little cookies, never found one for a cake. It looks yummy, and usually low in calorie! Will be trying it , thanks!

    • nancyelizabethlauzon October 9, 2012 at 9:42 am #

      You’re right, it is low in calories cause of the egg whites. And despite being sweet, it’s very light. We never have left overs =)

  3. moirakeith October 9, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    I’ve never tried this before. Not sure I’ve even ever heard of it. Might have to give this a try when I’m craving a little something sweeter than my normal fare.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon October 9, 2012 at 9:43 am #

      And it makes a nice change from the usual cakes & pies =)

      • Selena Robins Musings October 9, 2012 at 9:51 am #

        Never had this but if it’s sweet then I know my husband will love it. Sounds like a great dish to make for the holidays.

        And it’s gluten-free and does sound easy to make.

        Thanks, Nancy!

  4. PG Forte October 9, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    Love merangues. love, love, love. My mother made the mistake of making them for Christmas one year and I never wanted any other kind of cookie after that.

Talk to me ;)

