Small Stuff or Big Stuff?

19 Oct

I have survived some big stuff in my life and come out the other side. A lot of small stuff happens too, and after surviving the big stuff I figured I’d learn not to sweat the small stuff. But I do.

If one snowflake falls from the sky, it’s no big deal. But if 5,000 snowflakes fall, don’t they bury you up to your knees? Are five thousand snowflakes still considered small stuff when you factor them together?

Five thousand snowflakes didn’t fall this week. Only five, and I hate to whine. But maybe whining occasionally can be healthy. I’m going with that.

The week started off with my daughter getting involved in a minor car accident. She’s absolutely fine, except for a sore neck. Some guy slammed into her from behind. She had stopped suddenly, and he was following too closely. He jumped out of his truck and started cursing and yelling at her. He made her cry. Big jerk. At first glance there was no damage to her truck, but now she can’t open her back hatch. The cost to repair it? $1750, which Big Jerk will have to pay through his insurance. Ain’t karma a bitch?

Same daughter celebrated a birthday this weekend. I made her a custard meringue cake. I used a natural sugar substitute, to keep the calories to a minimum. Note to self: Always use REAL sugar when making meringue. Long story short, after numerous hours and ingredients wasted, it tasted like crap. I threw it out, went to the store, and bought her a carrot cake.

These are not my pants, or my legs. Duh!

On Monday I bought some clothes at a store that only does returns if you keep the tags on and save the receipt. I usually don’t save receipts, but this time I did, because I was pretty sure I’d be taking the clothes back, not being sure about the fit or the color. Except I didn’t know about the ‘keeping tags on’ policy, so I took them off. So even though I saved the receipt, it doesn’t matter. They refuse to give me a refund or credit. Now I’m stuck with clothing that doesn’t fit all that great, that I’ll probably never wear, that I’ll probably give to my local charity. This tends to happen to me a lot, so the local charity loves me.

On Wednesday I took two pairs of pants — one black, one grey — to the tailor to be hemmed, and paid $24. I wore the black pair out and they were the perfect length for my black pumps. Next day I put on the grey pair and they bunched up around my feet. The tailor had completely forgotten to hem the grey pair. (Funny, cause they remembered to charge me for both.) I had to go back to explain my situation, and they looked at me like I was trying to pull a fast one — since I hadn’t saved my bill.

Next I went to my local camera store to pick up some family photos I’d left to be developed. When I got there, the largest one, 11″ x 14″, wasn’t ready. Apparently they send them out to be developed, and it takes a week. Another wasted trip. I wish they’d told me. The store clerk insists it’s written on the bill and that he DID tell me, but later on I checked the bill — which for some strange reason, I’d saved — and it wasn’t written anywhere, and I really don’t remember him telling me. Now I have to go back next week.

Did any small stuff happen to you recently that made you sweat? Was there enough small stuff that you could classify it as big stuff? Whining is encouraged, since there’s nothing like other people’s problems to make you feel better about your own.

6 Responses to “Small Stuff or Big Stuff?”

  1. 4amWriter October 19, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

    Things happen in clusters for me, too. But lately it seems like my clusters have stretched out out over the course of a long, long, long time.

  2. kathleenkaskawrites October 21, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    With me it’s persistent problems, usually technical. I started my on-the-road promo for my latest book. During my PowerPoint, I keep trying to show a YouTube video. I get everything working, and during the presentation, the darn thing fails. Thanks, Nancy, the whining helped. Next Saturday, I’ll be up in front of an audience again, giving it another go.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon October 22, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

      Ah yes, the dreaded technology curse. It plagues me too, on occasion. Hang in there, and feel free to stop by anytime to whine 😉

  3. Jewel Divas Style November 1, 2012 at 2:11 am #

    All this told me was that you don’t save your receipts and always make things at the last minute while changing something in it and then it’s ruined.

    You clearly need to change how you do things,lol.

    SAVE YOUR RECEIPTS!!!!!

    And don’t change recipes without testing it first!!!!!

Talk to me ;)

