Cooking for One

6 Nov

As some of you may know, my baby moved out 9 days ago. I’m both sad and excited about the empty room she left behind; my brain is spinning with the possibilities — do I turn it into a guest room, an exercise room, a sitting room? At times the house is too quiet. Other times I love the peace.

It’s also been an adjustment in the kitchen, since I’m now cooking for two. An even bigger adjustment for my daughter, who asked me the other day what a cooling rack was for. Her meal repertoire consists of spaghetti sauce, taco dip, roasted garlic spread and Kraft Dinner (called Kraft Macaroni and Cheese in the U.S.)

She teaches music and French full-time, so she needs some fast and easy recipes at her fingertips. I did some research and came up with a cookbook called The Little Black Apron: A Single Girl’s Guide to Cooking with Style and Grace by Jodi Citrin, Melissa Gibson and Katie Nuanes, which garnered good reviews on Amazon.

But I wanted to reach out to my fellow bloggers and ask for any tips you have about cooking for one? Or dinner for two with leftovers? If you had one piece of advice for a neophyte in the kitchen, what would it be? Do you have a favorite recipe or cookbook you’d recommend?

4 Responses to “Cooking for One”

  1. Selena Robins Musings November 6, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    Turn it into a Nancy room, a place where you can go, relax, read, decorate it the way you want, nice chair in there, pictures and all your goodies.

    Have her scour the Tasty Tuesday blogs, lots of great recipes there. 😉

    I strongly recommend a crock pot. There are tons of recipes online for easy recipes and she comes home to a finished meal with leftovers to bring for lunch.

    Soon, you’ll be loving the quiet and empty nest. Hugs

    • nancyelizabethlauzon November 7, 2012 at 10:32 am #

      Thanks, Selena! I feel like it can’t be a Nancy room, I already have one, LOL. But I can always hope! Great idea about the crock pot. Christmas is coming =)

  2. 4amWriter November 7, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    I have no advice! I’m trying to figure that out for my mother, who eats like crap and whose house is, shall I say, less than clean, because she only has to fend for herself. If you come up with some good ideas, let me know!

    • nancyelizabethlauzon November 7, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

      It’s such a challenge with the elderly, isn’t it? I went through that with my parents, and now my mom-in-law. Wish I had the solution for all of us, LOL

Talk to me ;)

