Your Favorite Bond?

9 Nov

With the imminent release of the latest Bond film, Skyfall, comes the most urgent pop culture question of our time:  Of the 6 actors who have portrayed James Bond over the years,  who is your favorite?

The top runners are:

Daniel Craig (2006-2012)

Sean Connery (1962-1971)

Roger Moore  (1973-1985)

and Pierce Brosnan (1995-2002).

Lesser known actors include George Lazenby (1969) and Timothy Dalton (1987-89).

I love Sean Connery in whatever role he takes on, and his portrayal of Bond is an eternal favorite for many. Suave and sophisticated, Connery handled the character with a sexual charisma and grace that remains unrivaled to this day. I’ve seen 22 of the 23 James Bond films, and my favorites feature Sean Connery, along with his famous pout and adorable Scottish accent.

I enjoyed the Bond films that came along after Connery gave up the role, but only because I love the franchise generally. Roger Moore, Timothy Dalton and Pierce Brosnan all fell short in the ‘hot bad boy’ department, in my opinion. They had the right stuff — good-looking, manly, intriguing and smart – but it takes more than that to make this girl’s heart go pitter-patter.

Then along comes Daniel Craig. He has a pout too, and a single-minded toughness that takes your breath away. He’s intense and complex, and captures my heart in a way Sean Connery never did. Maybe because underneath all those seething emotions, he’s vulnerable and damaged. Makes a girl want to kiss it all better. (Sigh).

4 Responses to “Your Favorite Bond?”

  1. Selena Robins Musings November 9, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    Sean Connery was my favorite and I think most people’s favorite. Timothy Dalton almost brought the franchise to a halt, in my opinion. So not James Bondish. I think Daniel Craig brings more realism to the role in a grumpy sort of way. 🙂 Great post, Nancy!

  2. nancyelizabethlauzon November 9, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

    Yeah, Sean Connery definitely personified Bond. Daniel Craig is edgier and uber cool.

  3. A. Catherine Noon November 13, 2012 at 8:40 am #

    See, I really love Connery. But I also love the others, so I’d almost like to have more than one vote. I thought George Lazenby did a great job and it was a shame he only got to do it once, and Timothy Dalton was my favorite until Pierce Brosnan, and then Daniel Craig eclipsed them both. I’d almost like to rank them. Sexy, the lot of them.

    • nancyelizabethlauzon November 13, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

      No doubt about that. As the saying goes, I wouldn`t kick any of them out of bed for eating crackers, LOL!

Talk to me ;)

