Tasty Tuesday: Spaghetti Pie

20 Nov

Since I’m having a better week, I can actually post a recipe instead of whining and whinging about my pathetic problems. Aren’t you glad? This recipe originated from Weight Watchers. I

added more fat and carbs tweaked it slightly, and now it’s a favorite staple in my recipe arsenal. A great choice if you’re looking for something different to bring to a pot luck dinner or outdoor picnic.

Spaghetti Pie

2 cups cooked spaghetti – thin spaghetti or spaghettini works best

¼ cup Parmesan cheese

1 egg, beaten

1 tbsp margarine

2/3 cup ricotta cheese or cottage cheese

2 tsp olive oil

½ diced onion

½ diced green pepper

1 garlic clove, minced

1 lb. lean ground beef

1 can diced tomatoes

1 tbsp. tomato paste

1 cup shredded Mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine first 4 ingredients until gooey, and line deep dish 9” pie plate along bottom and sides. Spread with ricotta cheese. Saute onion, green pepper and garlic in olive oil. Add hamburger and cook until brown. Add tomatoes and tomato paste. Cook until thickened and heated. Spoon over ricotta cheese. Sprinkle with Mozzarella cheese. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes, or until golden on top.

Please drop by my fellow Tasty Tuesday authors who are changing the world one word and recipe at a time:

How Does One Eat a Taco by Selena Robins

Pumpkin Martini by PG Forte

14 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Spaghetti Pie”

  1. Paula Petty November 20, 2012 at 12:51 am #

    I love this recipe and have been making it for years. You can actually freeze it before baking, but leave the cheese off the top until you are ready to bake it. Thanks for posting. It’s nice to know someone else enjoys spaghetti pie.

    • nancyelauzon November 20, 2012 at 9:50 am #

      Every time I bring this to a get together, I get asked for the recipe. It’s a keeper. Good idea about freezing in advance, I’ll try that. Thanks for stopping by, Paula!

  2. Selena Robins Musings November 20, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    That looks awesome! Must try it for the family, they’ll love it!

    • nancyelauzon November 20, 2012 at 9:51 am #

      The only down side is the can of tomato paste, LOL. It would be delicious with your Sexy Sassy Sauce too, of course.

      • Selena Robins Musings November 20, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

        I don’t like tomato paste at all, so I will have to make it with my Sexy Sassy Sauce and you will too, now that you are a total sauce convert 🙂

  3. PG Forte November 20, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    Mmm. Sounds yummy. I’ll definitely have to try this for my MIL who’s morphed into The World’s Most Picky Eater. I swear, if either of my kids had ever thought of being this fussy, they’d never have survived. But THIS, I bet, is something she’d love…even though I’ll have to substitute TVP for the meat. :/ Thanks!

    • Selena Robins Musings November 20, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

      I’ve heard of so many picky eaters lately, must be a new age trend or something.

    • nancyelauzon November 20, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, PG. And Happy Thanksgiving to you!

  4. PG Forte November 20, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    Oh, and Happy Thanksgiving!!

  5. Darla M Sands November 20, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    Interesting! Thank you for sharing.

    • nancyelauzon November 20, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

      Anytime, Darla. Thanks for taking the time to comment 😉

  6. Lafemmeroar November 20, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    That looks sooooooooo goooooood!!!!!! Thanks for sharing and now I will tweet it 🙂

  7. buddhafulkat December 1, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    making me hungry again!

Talk to me ;)

