I Want the Beer Commercial

30 Nov

xmaspartyWe’ve entered the Christmas season, and this weekend I have to decorate my house.  I love the final outcome, but I look upon this as a rather large chore, since it involves dusting the banister before I wrap it in fake pine boughs. Because let’s face it, I don’t dust the banister that often. Ditto the fireplace mantel. Decorating also involves vacuuming, since the corner where we put the Christmas tree isn’t a corner that gets vacuumed a lot, either.

By now you’ve probably surmised that my weekly housekeeping routine isn’t that thorough, and you’d be right.

Christmas has gotten more complicated. When I was a kid all we did was decorate the tree. Now the whole house is done. So not only am I doing extra vacuuming and dusting, I’m also changing and setting out everything that is ‘Christmasy’, from pot pourrie to candles, from dishes to linen. 

I wish I could relax and enjoy Christmas, but I don’t think there’s a woman on the planet who relaxes at Christmas, unless maybe they’re 95 years old and they have three generations of women in front of them who are doing the work of shopping and wrapping and baking and roasting.

One more complaint before I go. What’s with that song about the little boy who needs to buy red shoes for his dying mother but doesn’t have enough money? I get the sentiment and all, but really? A dying mother? It’s so damn depressing. My eyes fill with tears whenever that song comes on. I actually cry, it doesn’t matter where I am, although usually it’s a public place, like the grocery store.

I vote for a beer commercial over the song about the red shoes. Yeah, I know beer commercials are fake, all those laughing twenty-somethings having a fabulous Christmas party, drinking ice cold brewskies, not a care in the world. But isn’t that the kind of Christmas we all wish we could have?

 

12 Responses to “I Want the Beer Commercial”

  1. Jewel Divas Style November 30, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    I don’t put anything up any more, haven’t for years. I don’t have kids yet so no one to do it for so no need for wasting what little energy I seem to have at this time of the year. Between blogging all year and doing ten tonnes of other stuff I’m just completely stuffed this time of year and would rather have a holiday for two months.

    • nancyelauzon December 2, 2012 at 8:39 am #

      I know … it’s not much of a holiday when you pile on all the decorating, baking, shopping, etc ….

  2. Lafemmeroar December 2, 2012 at 11:19 am #

    Oh is such a sad song! Here it is:

  3. Lafemmeroar December 2, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    Here’s the vid:

    • nancyelauzon December 3, 2012 at 10:17 am #

      LOL … thanks a lot, CC! Twist the knife a little more, LOL

  4. Selena Robins Musings December 2, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    That song gets me every time! Did you know there was a movie made out of that song?

    I don’t put a lot of pressure on myself anymore when it comes to Christmas, because then it takes a lot of the joy out of it. Do what I can, and what doesn’t get done, just doesn’t get done. I look forward to being with all the family, seeing friends and just sharing a drink, dessert and spending time together. What doesn’t get put up or bought or baked, well, it’s no big deal at the end of the day.

    • nancyelauzon December 3, 2012 at 10:18 am #

      Great attitude … but it took a while for me to learn that 🙂

  5. 4amWriter December 3, 2012 at 4:31 am #

    I love Christmas, but I’m with you regarding the housekeeping. I don’t do a great job keeping my house clean so decorating takes up a whole weekend and then some. We got our tree yesterday, and hubs had the suggestion of moving the living room furniture around so that we could put the tree in a “new” place. I was horrified. Luckily, he saw the steam coming out my ears and he squashed the idea himself.

  6. kathleenkaskawrites December 3, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    We put out the Wise Men, a tiny ceramic Christmas tree; a tiny wreath with our initials on it (made by my sister 25 years ago). My husbands pours a glass of smoky porter and I mix a Bombay martini—stirred, not shaken. And it’s “Merry Christmas too all and to all a good night.”

    • nancyelauzon December 4, 2012 at 10:50 am #

      That sounds amazing, K! More and more, I believe it’s all about keeping it simple.

Talk to me ;)

