Tasty Tuesday – Servings

4 Dec

salmonThere comes a time in your life when you suddenly realize that your kids are becoming … you.

It’s a proud moment, but also scary, ’cause it means that along with your … ahem … wonderful qualities, they’ve also inherited your quirks, phobias and weird neuroses. You see, I have this fear when it comes to hosting parties, that I won’t have enough food. That my guests will be wandering around, stomachs growling, asking for more appetizers or drinks, and there will be nothing left. I inherited this quirk from my mother, who would ponder about serving sizes too. One time she agonized about what size salmon to buy for my sister’s anniversary party, and she got the smaller size — at my suggestion — and it ended up not being enough. One guest with a large appetite who LOVED salmon inhaled most of it, and my mother fretted about that the rest of the evening, and I felt guilty about not suggesting the larger salmon. So to prevent this scenario from happening, I usually buy so much food I could invite all my neighbours within a 100 mile radius and still have enough left over. Except I hate having a ton of leftovers, because it proves that I can’t get my servings sizes right, and I suck at estimating food quantities. I realize most normal people would rejoice at leftovers, and simply eat them or hand them out to friends, but I’m not normal, in case you haven’t realized that already. I’m a perfectionist, and things like that bug me, and I stew about it. Aren’t you glad you’re not related to me?

I’ve passed this strange affliction onto my daughter. Lately I’ve been helping her organize some family parties, and our conversations go something like this:

“Mom, can you pick up some fresh salsa and tortilla chips? Buy two containers of salsa and 2 bags of tortilla chips.”

“Two bags of chips? That’s a lot of chips. They’re pretty big bags.” You see, I’m trying to get it right.

“But what if we only buy one bag and we run out of chips?”

“You’re right. I’ll buy two bags. Because if I only buy one bag and we run out of chips, you’ll glare at me across the room and blame me for the lack of chips, and I’ll feel guilty because I suggested only one bag.”

We both laugh. We both know she wouldn’t really glare, but she gets the whole guilt thing. Too well.

Where do you stand when it comes to estimated quantities of food for a party? Do you get it right? No leftovers at all, just enough leftovers to hand out, or so many that you have to toss it all in the garbage and feel guilty about the starving kids of the world?

Please drop by my fellow Tasty Tuesday authors who actually have recipes to offer this week:

Smoking Bishop Punch Alcoholic by Renee Wildes

For the Chocolate Enriched Diet Plan by Selena Robins

Apple and Sausage Stuffing by Moira Keith

Black Pepper Cookies by PG Forte

 

9 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday – Servings”

  1. Selena Robins Musings December 4, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    Great post! I think you know where I stand on quantities. I always make too much, but we love leftovers and I do give out goodie bags for guests to take home, so I’m with your daughter’s philosophy, always have more than enough, never want to run out.

    That salmon platter looks delicious!

    • nancyelauzon December 4, 2012 at 11:50 am #

      LOL, yeah, too bad I didn’t include a recipe for it!

  2. PG Forte December 4, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    I’m with Selena. You can’t go wrong with more. More is always better. The people who say less is more are confused. Obviously. lol!

  3. moirakeith December 4, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

    I’ve been told that quantity becomes even more important with growing boys and that no matter how much you make or buy its never enough. I hope that is false information. Great post as always!

    • nancyelauzon December 5, 2012 at 10:23 am #

      I have no idea about growing boys … I had two very picky girls who never ate half of what I cooked. They gave me a complex, LOL!

  4. 4amWriter December 7, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    I always make food that I know I’ll eat anyway. That way, if there are leftovers, they won’t go to waste. 😉 Yes, that means I serve a lot of pizza.

    • nancyelauzon December 7, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

      That’s a good idea, except I have so many leftovers I have leftovers of leftovers ….

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. For the Chocolate Enriched Diet Plan « Selena Robins Musings - December 4, 2012

    […] Servings by Nancy Lauzon […]

Talk to me ;)

