Looking for an Honest Opinion

6 Dec

My womanly pride took a hit this week. I went to The Bay — Canada’s version of Macy’s — to do some Christmas shopping. There were a lot of great sales, plus it was ‘Seniors Tuesday’, which gives you an extra 15% off everything, even sale priced items. Usually I pay no attention to Senior sales, since I’m not a senior.

Then I saw that ‘senior’ means 55 and over.

Blonde, looks like straw that a cat peed on

PHOTO A: Blonde, looks like straw that a cat peed on

News flash … I turned 55 last February. There, I said it. I don’t feel 55, whatever that’s supposed to feel like. I don’t look 55, whatever that’s supposed to look like. So sometimes I have trouble realizing that I’M 55 GODDAMMED YEARS OLD.

For several years I’ve been worried that dying my hair auburn every 5 weeks would give me brain cancer. So this summer I took the plunge and started my journey towards letting my natural hair color return, a.k.a. GREY HAIR. I went to a new hairdresser recommended by a lot of blonde friends and family, and got blonde highlights, letting the grey grow in a bit. Everyone said it looked great.

I thought it looked great too, until I washed out all the goop my new hairdresser put in. My hair was bone dry, and my natural curl was gone. According to the experts this is because when you take the pigment out of hair, you take out a lot of the moisture, too.

I went back  and complained. He sold me a ton of product. Leave in conditioner, curl enhancer, and some miracle formula Dr. Oz touts on TV. None of it worked. My hair still looked like straw that a cat peed on. I went back again and asked the guy to cut it shorter, figuring that might help. Being a man, he didn’t listen. He took a bit off, but not enough. I still didn’t like it.

Frantic, I returned to my old hairdresser — a woman who is a genius with scissors. She DID listen, and cut it all off. So about a month later, I’m back to my natural color, which is GREY with a little of my original dark brown buried underneath when you look really hard.

Photo B: Grey, but softer and healthier. Do I look like Jamie Lee Curtis?

PHOTO B: Grey, but softer and healthier. Do I look like Jamie Lee Curtis, or an old hag?

Back to the store. I arrived at the cash of the Men’s Department, arms loaded with gifts for my husband — yes, he’s getting clothes this year. I expected to be asked to prove I was a senior. Guess what? The young, 20-something cashier in the Men’s Department didn’t even ask me how old I was. He automatically gave me the 15% discount. Probably he thinks any woman over 30 is a senior. More likely he glanced at my grey head, one of many grey heads in the store, and figured out the obvious. I must be AT LEAST 55.

I was happy and sad at the same time. I saved a ton of money in discounts. But I must finally look my age. Now I’m wondering if I should start dying my hair again, and risk the brain cancer. Except that seems very vain. So I ask you, dear readers, what do YOU think? Don’t worry about hurting my feelings, the poll below is anonymous. Pick which picture you think my hair looks better in, A or B. That’s it. Your opinion would really help.

10 Responses to “Looking for an Honest Opinion”

  1. Selena Robins Musings December 6, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

    LOL LOL! You so funny. I like your new look! But I’m still going to enter the world of hair dye one of these days, I missed out on all that, but when the time comes, I’m gonna do it. I may even go all retro and get different shades of red. LOL

    • nancyelauzon December 6, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

      It’s totally not fair that you’re not grey yet!

      • Selena Robins Musings December 6, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

        I think it’s totally fair. LOL I can’t take credit, it’s the DNA at work.

  2. Amber West December 7, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    You look great in the second photo (you look cute in the first, too, but I prefer number 2).

    Have you considered going dark if you aren’t ready to let the grey have free reign? There are usually more “natural” color options in the browns and I can totally see you workin’ the brunette.

    (PS – My mother dyed her hair varying shades of auburn when she started going grey. When she finally gave in, her hair came in this brilliant silver. It’s gorgeous, and people think she dyes it to look that way. So, grey can be fun!!)

    • nancyelauzon December 7, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

      I’ve dyed my hair brown, golden brown, dark auburn, dark brown, everything but blonde, and the blonde turned my head to a nest of straw. I actually love the grey, I like it more and more. I guess I just need to embrace it and throw my ‘Nice n Easy’ out the window, LOL. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Lafemmeroar December 8, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    You are a beautiful, handsome woman. Age is just a number so I’ve been 12 for decades. Enjoy the discount and after you get it tell the cashier “Psyche!” I’m really 12 … see what happens. If nothing happens hey at least you’ve got more cash in your wallet! I mean look at women like Diane Keaton! I think she looks better now than she did in her 20s … she is a beautiful, handsome woman JUST LIKE YOU!!!!!!!!

    • nancyelauzon December 10, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

      Thanks you’re sweet. Yeah, maybe next time I’ll psyche them out a bit, since I’ll be over the shock by then, LOL

      • Lafemmeroar December 10, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

        Not sweet … honest. 🙂

  4. 4amWriter December 10, 2012 at 6:33 am #

    You’re beautiful in both pictures, but you sound happier with Pic B, so that’s the one I chose. 🙂

    • nancyelauzon December 10, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      You’re right, I am happier with B. Thanks for voting 😉

Talk to me ;)

