The Naughty New Year Blog Hop!

28 Dec

I’m happy to announce I’ve thrown caution to the wind — not to mention my red satin bra and panties, if the banner on the left is anything to go by — and joined a New Year’s Blog Hop courtesy of JustRomance.me. The Blog Hop features lots of wonderful authors and great prizes — including a Kindle — and a chance to expand your ‘to be read’ pile. A great way to ring in the New Year.

Just by commenting on my blog you can win one of  THREE copies of The Good, the Bad and the Hair — a Chick Dick Mystery. Tune in for the Live Chat and Grand Prize drawing at 7 PM EST on Dec. 30th to win a Kindle. 

I don’t usually flaunt the sexy side of my books, since they contain romance AND mystery, but there’s a first time for everything. 

Everyone has their own definition of sexy. Mine might not be the same as yours. Sexy can be an entire chorus line of naked firemen dancing and girating, or it can be a good-looking guy walking by in a pair of jeans. Some people think Corvettes are sexy, some prefer VWs, but it’s all good. Like food, sexy is a matter of preference, and there’s no right or wrong. 

Sexy is in the small details of life — the light in somebody’s eyes, an act of kindness, or a gentle touch. Sexy has to be emotional, or it just doesn’t matter. 

Actions speak louder than words. Sexy talk is easy — “Do you have a map? Because I’m lost in your eyes.” OR “Do you know CPR? Cause you just took my breath away.” Okay, so maybe sexy talk isn’t all that easy to do WELL. 

Sexy actions hold more meaning, especially when they come from the heart. And I’m not talking about nibbling on somebody’s ear lobe. There’s nothing sexier than a man who shows he cares about you by his everyday, unpretentious actions.

Here are the Top Three Sexiest Acts the characters in The Good, the Bad and the Hair have done for each other. First, a bit about the book itself:

GOOD BAD HAIR-500x800wtype

A Nancy Drew wannabe and a drifter on the run flirt with disaster—and each other—when they team up to solve a mystery that lands them in trouble—and in love.

Hannah Hailstone’s split ends are a divining rod for disaster

Hannah just found a sexy man in the back seat of her car—semi-conscious and bleeding, but at least he has a pulse. Her father, a James Bond wannabe with a penchant for gambling, has disappeared. And there’s a man in a pink Cadillac tailing her hippy artist mother. Hannah’s plans to re-read her Nancy Drew Mysteries—the vintage, hard cover collection—have changed. Now she’s got a real mystery on her hands.

Cooper West is on a losing streak

Robbed, beaten and on the run from thugs, Cooper is down on his luck. Somebody just tapped danced on his face and stole his precious motorcycle. Now he’s a drifter whose wings have been clipped, so he’s got a reason to stay in town a while. And he just found another one. Hannah’s funky hair and her talent for swan diving into hot water make a fascinating combination.

And bad news travels fast

Someone is out to get Cooper, and Hannah’s a sucker for strays. But when his bad luck tangles with her bad hair, it jump-starts a bumpy ride through the tunnel of love.

Top Three Sexiest Acts:

1. Hannah saves Cooper’s life by knocking out his adversary with an oxygen tank.

2. Cooper helps Hannah hide a dead body in the trunk of his car.

3. Cooper hands over his precious Harley motorcycle to buy Hannah’s way out of trouble.

Have you ever been on the receiving end of a sexy act that doesn’t involve edible underwear or battery operated devices? What’s the corniest, ‘sexiest’ line you’ve ever heard?

96 Responses to “The Naughty New Year Blog Hop!”

  1. leelalou December 28, 2012 at 1:50 am #

    Corniest line – If I said you had a beautiful body, would you hold it against me? I can’t really think of the sexiest line I’ve ever heard.

    I’m glad to see you in the blog hop. I hope your holiday was bright and 2013 is your best year yet.

    Leela Lou
    LeelaLou@Comcast.net
    http://www.LeelaLou.wordpress.com

  2. yganoe December 28, 2012 at 6:04 am #

    I have been married for almost 29 years so I am out of practice with the pick up lines. But, I have read some pretty funny ones in books.
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

    • nancyelauzon December 28, 2012 at 9:20 am #

      Thanks for stopping by, Yvette. Here’s a corny one: Apart from being sexy, what do you do for a living?

      • yganoe December 28, 2012 at 9:38 am #

        Love it!
        Yvette

    • Ashley December 29, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

      Well, this isn’t exactly a pick up story but… While in college my oh so funny friends thought it would be fun to set me up with the cute guy sitting in the booth next to ours. I naturally tried to excape by dashing to the restroom only to be stopped. The next 5 minutes were spent with me trying to explain away the (not so) hilarious joke my friends had intitiated. Well the guy in question took quite a liking to the instigator of this whole thing and long story short they ended up getting married. So my embarrassment turned into their happliy ever after.

      • nancyelauzon January 1, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

        That’s a great story, Ashley, thanks for sharing!

  3. Christina Livingston December 28, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    oh I have heard so many and the guys were never very happy when I laughed my head off after hearing them!!

    mygirls01@yahoo.com

    • nancyelauzon December 28, 2012 at 9:58 am #

      LOL … you have to give them ‘A’ for effort!

  4. Diana Barrios Tan December 28, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    corny line i heard would be: “did it hurt when you fell from heaven?”
    sexy would be my hubby buying me matching panties and bras : )

    • nancyelauzon December 28, 2012 at 9:59 am #

      Love that line! And that’s so sweet of your hubby. I think it takes a lot for a guy to buy stuff at a lingerie store.

  5. Rachelle Lerner December 28, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    I don’t know if you would consider this sexy or not. But, we used to say it’s time to start a fight, so we can make up!

  6. Rae M. December 28, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    I agree. “Sexy” is definitely relative. Not that I’ve hid a dead body in a trunk before. But hey, to each their own!

    As for corniest line, hmmm it’s been a while since I’ve heard one. I think Christina’s on to something.Unless they use them as an opener and not seriously, I think guys have finally figured out that those lines get laughed at.

    Thanks!
    rae.gwendy(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. kathleenkaskawrites December 28, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    Wow, Nancy, your blog received a lot of attention! Understandable. Subtle sexy works for me; reading it and writing it. Cooper and Hannah sound like fun characters. Thanks for introducing them.

    • nancyelauzon December 28, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

      They’re two of my favorites, thanks Kathleen!

  8. mawmom December 28, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    I think it is sexy when my husband picks up a book or a treat for me just because he was thinking of me when he was picking up milk. Are there any pick up lines that aren’t corny?
    Thanks Carin mawmom at gmail dot com

    • nancyelauzon December 28, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

      You’re right, that’s very sexy. Thanks for sharing, Carin!

  9. Jacki C. December 28, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    It was in college – “Are you an angel? You look like you fell from heaven” (rolling my eyes)

  10. Heather Kumar December 28, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    Ok this wasn’t even close to sexy, and I think it was supposed to be some kind of backhanded compliment, but a man said to me, “Dang I could bounce a quarter off of that,” while looking at my backside. Needless to say, he did not end up with me phone number and I ended up buying a larger jeans size.

    Heather.kumar@yahoo.com

    • nancyelauzon December 28, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

      Omigosh, that’s so funny — thanks for sharing, Heather!

  11. kimberly holgate December 28, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    i think they are all corney wish people would just talk to you instaed of thinking up stupid things to say
    kaholgate at ymail dot com

    • nancyelauzon December 28, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

      True, Kimberly … much better to just start a normal convo!

  12. April Holgate December 28, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    I love reading corny pickup lines but not hearing them! My friends used to say them to each other in college…wish I would remember some!

    My boyfriend drew me a nice bubble bath and gave me reading time while he watched football!

    grapeapril75(AT)gmail.com

    • nancyelauzon December 28, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

      There’s nothing I love better than a hot bubble bath and a book … your BF is a keeper!

  13. tanna4abak December 28, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    It’s been too long since I heard a pick up line, corny or other wise. I’ve been married for over 20 years. My husband runs a bubble bath for me regularly and that’s sexy to me. Have a Happy New Year. I wish good things for you in 2013. Thanks for sharing with us.

    • nancyelauzon December 28, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

      I agree, bubble baths drawn by hubbys are very sexy. Thanks for your comment, and wishing you a Happy New Year right back 😉

  14. Maria D. December 28, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    Corniest line – “Are You From Around Here” – kid you not! It’s been a while since anyone did anything sexy for me but I would have to say that it’s been getting me my favorite coffee drink and giving me time by myself to read:)

    Happy New Year and Thanks for being a part of the blog hop.

    junegirl63 at gmail dot com

    • nancyelauzon December 28, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

      Ha ha, that’s certainly not very original. Favorite coffee and reading time sounds wonderful. Happy New Year, Maria!

  15. Colleen December 28, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    Gee I can not think of a corny line…
    I love having a nice meal made for me.

    • nancyelauzon December 28, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

      A man cooking in the kitchen … now that’s sexy. Thanks, Colleen!

  16. girly87 December 28, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    It’s been a long time for me to remember any pick up lines – and I’m the one that had to ask my husband out. He was taking too long. 😉 Happy new Year!

    • nancyelauzon December 29, 2012 at 10:05 am #

      Ha ha, you go, girl! Thanks for stopping by!

  17. fcammer2 December 28, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    Geez I’m so out of the loop I can’t remember the last pick up line I heard. LOL!

    • nancyelauzon December 29, 2012 at 10:06 am #

      Hopefully they’re getting less cheesy with time, LOL!

  18. Kelly December 28, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    i used the line I was drunk setting on a bar stool when the most beautiful man I have ever seem walked up to the bar and out of my mouth before I could think popped out “do you know you are my fantasy”

  19. Monica V. December 28, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    Happy New Year!

    The best thing my husband ever said to me was that after 40 years of marriage I still look the same to him. Isn’t that sweet…(and sexy).

    mcv111 at hotmail dot com

    • nancyelauzon December 29, 2012 at 10:07 am #

      That’s very sexy … I’m happy to report my hubby has said something similiar. So nice to hear!

  20. valeriecwatkins December 28, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    Oh baby where are your wings cuz you look like an angel from the heavens. I had to laugh at this one but I waited until after a dance and was back with friends.

    • nancyelauzon December 29, 2012 at 10:08 am #

      LOL … that’s a good one. Thanks for sharing!

  21. Alianne December 28, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    I got hit with the, “Did that hurt? When you fell from heaven…?” line. Of course, I was wearing a huge bloody latex gash on my cheek for a zombie costume at the time, so it was cute and clever and sexy at the same time. ^_^ Not too often that happens with cheesy pick up lines.

    Happy New Year!

    • nancyelauzon December 29, 2012 at 10:09 am #

      Very clever … and timely! Happy New Year to you!

  22. Shelley December 28, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    Great pick up lines. Lots are so cheesy you gotta laugh.

    • nancyelauzon December 29, 2012 at 10:09 am #

      I know, they’re kinda cute in a dorky sort of way …

  23. pc December 28, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

    This sounds like a fun read! Corniest line I ever got was- “Wanna date a real American hero?”
    ivegotmail8889(at)yahoo(dot)com

    • nancyelauzon December 29, 2012 at 10:10 am #

      LOL … this guy doesn’t have too much confidence, huh?

  24. kittyb78 December 29, 2012 at 12:24 am #

    Thanks for being part of the hop.
    bidelia78@yahoo.com

    • nancyelauzon December 29, 2012 at 10:10 am #

      It’s a lot of fun, thanks for stopping by!

  25. bn100 December 29, 2012 at 12:36 am #

    No, I haven’t. Haven’t head any corny lines. Happy new year!

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

    • nancyelauzon December 29, 2012 at 10:11 am #

      Happy New Year to you also, and maybe this will be the year you hear a few!

  26. belindaegreen December 29, 2012 at 12:36 am #

    The corneist lines : You must be tired because you have been running through my mind all day, heaven must be missing an angel because she’s standing right here, etc. etc.

    What’s so hard about saying my name is XXX. I like what I see and want to get to know you better. Can we talk? Easy peasy! 🙂

    Thanks for the opportunity to share!

    Belinda G
    belgre AT comcast DOT net

    • nancyelauzon December 29, 2012 at 10:12 am #

      I guess some guys try to be creative, but it can backfire so easily, LOL. Thanks for stopping by to comment!

  27. Amy S. December 29, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    Great post! Happy New Year!

  28. Amy McDonald December 29, 2012 at 10:34 am #

    Sounds really good!! Thanks for sharing!!

  29. drpharmgirl December 29, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    My husband bringing me coffee every morning at work. Simple but effective. 😉

  30. Brenda I December 29, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    Corniest line/move: Let’s pretend I’m a pirate, would you like my parrot to sit here (taps closest shoulder) or here (tapping, then draping arm across the shoulders)?

  31. WVmommy24954 December 29, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    I haven’t read any of this series yet, but from the sample on your page, I think I may give them a try. They seem like a fun and sexy read!

    • nancyelauzon December 29, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

      Thanks, WVmommy, that’s so nice to hear. Drop by anytime!

  32. Chris December 29, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    Thank you for joining the blog hop. I can’t wait to dig into your stories! What a great way to enter a new year with new authors! Happy New Year everyone!

    • nancyelauzon December 29, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

      Happy New Year to you, Chris, I hope you add me to your TBR pile!

  33. Jackie December 29, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Cute !!..ok,..when I was dating my husband I had to go to boss’s wedding..he took me to it …long story short..lots of snow..he carried me over snow drift to get me in his truck….The bride lifted her dress..trudged thru snow in heels and new husband just watched..was so sexy I married him few months later..been wonderful 27 years..

    • nancyelauzon December 29, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

      Yay, chivalry is NOT dead. So sweet, to carry you over the snow drift. That’s a keeper!

  34. Laura Peets December 29, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    Looks good!

  35. JoAnna B December 29, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    Sexy is my hubby taking care of things (including me) when I can’t.

    • nancyelauzon December 29, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

      Well said! Love a guy who takes care of business … and garbage. That’s a boy job in our household, LOL!

  36. Jessica B December 29, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    I haven’t been on the receiving end of a sexy act or a corny line (tho the two you listed were corny to me). Unless you can count my first kiss and a stuffed animal gift given on Valentines day a sexy act? Thanks for being a part of the hop. I hope that you had a Merry Christmas and have a happy new year!
    jessangil at gmail dot com

    • nancyelauzon December 30, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

      I think a first kiss is very special, not to mention sexy. Thanks for stopping by, and have a wonderful New Year!

  37. A. Catherine Noon December 29, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    Best.Title.Ever. Loff!

    Happy New Year!

  38. Lisa December 30, 2012 at 2:40 am #

    Can’t wait to check out some of your books!

    • nancyelauzon December 30, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

      That’s so sweet, Lisa, thanks for stopping by!

  39. suzlyne December 30, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    I’ve been married for almost 30 years so it’s been awhile since I’ve heard a pickup line! LOL! But the sexiest act my husband does for me is the dishes!
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

    • nancyelauzon December 30, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

      Like I said, nothing sexier than a man in the kitchen!

  40. Joder December 30, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    Fun post with some memorable pick-up lines. And as a Nancy Drew fan I’m particularly intrigued by your latest release. Thanks for being part of the Hop!

    joderjo402 AT gmail DOT com

    • nancyelauzon December 30, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

      Nancy Drew is the greatest, yay! Thanks for stopping by, Joder!

  41. Mel Bourn December 30, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    Love cheesy pick up lines!! My husband is the king of them. One line he used for me was as we were getting to know each other…I asked what line of work he was in. His answer: I am a model for the ken doll from the waist down. I laughed so hard.
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

    • nancyelauzon December 30, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

      Aha, a man with a sense of humor is very sexy!

  42. Suzie December 30, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    I have heard some bad lines, like the fact I have a smile that reminded the guy if his sister, ew, you want to kiss your sister. A sexy thing for me was a guy picking up lunch for me and finding a quiet spot in the park by work to eat it. When your having a bad day at work, a small act can be very sexy.

    • nancyelauzon December 30, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

      Absolutely .. my hubby did that once. He brought me a single red rose 😉

  43. arswthrt December 30, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Hmmm.. the only sexy act that I can think of at the moment was when a man sang to me over the phone all the way from New Zealand. I don’t remember the name of the song now, but I remember it being a sexy one and it helped that the guy singing to me had an extremely sexy voice.

    Best wishes for the new year
    Christine S
    cms72023 at gmail dot com

    • nancyelauzon December 30, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

      A sexy voice is the greatest. Thanks for sharing, Christine!

  44. laurie g December 30, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    Geez I’m so out of the loop I can’t remember the last pick up line I heard. LOL!

    • nancyelauzon December 30, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

      LOL … no worries, they’re fun to read about. Thanks for stopping by!

  45. Selena Robins Musings December 30, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    Happy New Year, Nancy! Fun blog post. It’s been a long time since I’ve endured a pick up line, but one of the lamest ones I’ve ever had uttered to me was: “Are you tired, because you’ve been running through my mind all day.” (something like that, so cliche, so damn stupid).

    the Good The Bad The Hair remains one of my all time favorite mysteries! Highly recommend it, actually I highly recommend all the Chick Dick Mystery books, and not because you’re my friend, because you know I’d tell you if something didn’t work for me. 🙂

    • nancyelauzon December 31, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

      You’re so sweet! Love that line! Happy New Year, honey!

  46. Beckey December 30, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    LOL
    Happy New Year
    BeckeyWhiteATgmailDOTcom

    • nancyelauzon December 31, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

      Happy New Year Beckey, thanks for visiting!

  47. Shadow December 30, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    Happy New Year! Thanks for sharing! Thank you for the giveaway too!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

    • nancyelauzon December 31, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, Shadow, and Happy New Year!

Talk to me ;)

