I Resolve to Not Resolve

2 Jan

New YearsI’ve decided to forgo New Year’s Resolutions this year, since I can’t even remember my New Year’s Resolutions from last year. I’m sure I blogged about them, so I could look them up, but if they were that important I’d remember, wouldn’t I?

The top five resolutions people make each year are (in reverse order) to enjoy life more — whatever that means — to quit smoking, to lose weight, to get more exercise and to spend more time with family and friends. But does anybody really accomplish what they set out to do? 

Most of us start out with the best of intentions, but life has a way of derailing our plans, causing us to feel guilty or incompetent or just plain frustrated. 

A year is a long time. Much better to chop it up into 365 manageable chunks. 

So here’s my plan: to wake up 365 times this year and do my best. That’s it. To do my best throughout the day, whatever it is I’m doing, so that when I go to sleep at night I’ll know that I left it all out there, and that I couldn’t have  worked any harder, or written any better, or loved any stronger.

What about  you? Are you a planner or a pantster when it comes to the New Year?

3 Responses to “I Resolve to Not Resolve”

  1. Jewel Divas Style January 2, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    I stopped making resolutions years ago. I always find it best to start losing weight the first of spring (Sep) and the first of the month. I don’t smoke but do love food, would love to exercise but my chiro said no :(. I don’t drink but do shop :D. Using January to finish off xmas food and slowly think through the things you want to do is a good thing. Take your time, make lists, whittle them down and then formulate a plan. It’s 40 degrees where I live for the next week or so, so even THINKING about exercise would be stupid. Summer is definitely NOT the time to workout.

    • nancyelauzon January 3, 2013 at 8:00 am #

      Wow, 40 degrees? It’s minus 30 C here this morning. Can I come live with you LOL? You’re right, it’s a good idea to take your time and think about a plan 😉

  2. 4amWriter January 6, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

    Simple and stress-free. I like it. 😉

Talk to me ;)

