What Have You Done for Yourself Lately?

4 Jan
Photo courtesy of Flickr:WANA Commons

Photo courtesy of Flickr:WANA Commons

I was browsing my favorite blogs this morning and came across 4AMWriter –  Balancing Writing and Life — who describes how her dog came home from the groomers with glittering purple toenails, and how she fretted about not treating herself nearly as well as she should. So that got me to thinking, ‘When was the last time I treated myself?’ And shouldn’t I do it more often? Hell, if it’s good enough for the dog …

I work hard and give whatever I can to family and friends, so why do I forget about myself? Is there something in the female genetic code that compels women to put other human’s needs ahead of our own?

Women are the traditional nurturers of children, so it would make sense. What kind of mother would I be if I ignored my crying baby and gave myself a pedicure instead?

Problem is, those crying babies grow up and move out, and now I have more time on my hands. So why do I still hesitate to pick up the phone and make that hair appointment, or get my eyebrows waxed or my nails done? Is it laziness or my genetic code?

If it’s been too long since you did something nice for yourself, make a plan to do it this week. There’s nothing like pretty nails and less hair on your face to make you feel good 😉

8 Responses to “What Have You Done for Yourself Lately?”

  1. Selena Robins Musings January 4, 2013 at 11:04 am #

    Purple sparkles on dog? I don’t think so. LOL I don’t like getting a pedi or mani, prefer to do it myself, I’m paranoid about getting some sort of fungus and always think they didn’t sterilize things enough. I also don’t like massages. I’m odd that way. 🙂

    As for waxing eyebrows. Did that once. It hurt like a bitch, and I got a rash, never doing that again. Will handle them myself.

    Guess, I do things for myself then, eh? LOL

    I say, bi-monthly luncheons and getting together for writing brainstorming sessions sound fun, but then we both don’t like to go out in cold weather. Okay, will start doing more of that….soon.

    • nancyelauzon January 4, 2013 at 5:33 pm #

      You’re a very self-sufficient gal, Selena! Yeah, we do tend to hibernate this time of year, but we’ll have to get together soon 😉

  2. Kathleen Kaska January 4, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    Your post was an inspiration. I was feeling guilty about spending the time and money on getting my hair highlighted next week. Then I realized that it’s been almost six months.

    • nancyelauzon January 4, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

      I know, what is it with us gals, that we feel guilty about indulging? Go for it, and enjoy yourself. I’m getting my brows waxed and my hair cut. Nuff said.

  3. K.B. Owen January 5, 2013 at 11:20 pm #

    I always resolve to be nice to myself, LOL. Thanks for the reminder! I have another question for you, Nancy:

    Have you participated in The Next Big Thing blog hop yet? Would you be interested? It’s a way to showcase authors’ works. On your blog, you post answers to a 10 question template about your upcoming work, and tag 5 more authors who will do the same the following week.

    I’m up this week, and want to tag 5 authors – who would be posting Wed, Jan 16th. If you Twitter DM me your email, I can send you the details, and then you can decide.

    Thanks,
    Kathy @kbowenwriter

    • nancyelauzon January 6, 2013 at 10:24 am #

      Hey Kathy, thanks for stopping by! Yes, I blogged about The Next Big Thing about a month ago. But thanks for thinking of me. Wishing you happy blogging in 2013!

  4. 4amWriter January 7, 2013 at 5:53 am #

    Thanks for the mention. I have never been one to pamper myself, either. But I guess I have always looked at uninterrupted writing time as the perfect day. Even better than a massage. Weird, huh.

    • nancyelauzon January 7, 2013 at 8:12 am #

      Not weird at all … a whole day to yourself is every woman’s dream!

Talk to me ;)

