Cheap Shoes

12 Jan

ShoesI was born in February, which means I’m a Pisces. Yes, I have a birthday coming up, don’t remind me.

According to the rules of astrology, Pisces are ruled by their feet. In fact, Piscean feet and toes can cause their owners horrific anxiety. 

I would believe this even if I’d never read a horoscope, because my feet act as a lightening rod for the rest of me. If my feet are cold, my whole body is cold. I also spend a lot of money on foot massages, pedicures, creams, files and toenail polish. And of course, shoes.

I wear size 9. I used to wear 8 1/2, until I had children and my feet got bigger. I thought it was imagination, but my doctor informed me that when you’re pregnant, all the cartilage in your body softens (especially around the pelvis) to prepare for childbirth. This includes the cartilage in your feet. So the collateral damage of pregnancy — along with stretch marks and a pot belly — can be bigger feet. 

Just what I needed. Bigger feet. Anyways, I’m not alone. A lot of women wear size 9. They must, because whenever I find a pair of shoes I like, there are no size 9’s left. Only size 5’s. Women with size 5 feet must get great deals on shoes, since those are the only sizes left during a sale. 

And I can’t just walk into any old store and pick up cheap shoes. I need to buy good quality footwear, or I’ll regret it in the form of pinched toes, giant blisters and aggravation of my chronic plantar fasciitis. My local foot clinic recommends that I buy shoes that can accommodate my $300 orthotics.  The problem is, sometimes the best shoe for my foot means the ugliest shoe available. 

ugly shoesI absolutely refuse to wear something like this. I’d rather ditch the orthotics and suffer through blisters until I’m screaming in agony. I pride myself on my personal style, and it doesn’t include ugly, clunky shoes. 

So I compromise. I own a few shoes that fit my orthotics, which I wear if I’m walking a lot or running errands. But the rest of the shoes in my closet are expensive, well made, real leather, stylish shoes that are worth every penny of what I paid for them, and I paid a lot. 

But when your feet rule, you have no choice.

How about you? Are you one of those lucky people who can buy inexpensive shoes and prance away happily? Or maybe you’re a size 5 and buy all your shoes on sale? You can comment, but I’ll still hate you — wink. 

6 Responses to “Cheap Shoes”

  1. Kathleen Kaska January 12, 2013 at 8:21 am #

    You’re a woman after my own heart, Nancy. I love today’s post because I love shoes! I dream shoes! I dream I’m running effortlessly, merrily down the street in stilettos, something I can’t possibly do in real life. I woke up one day with flat feet; go figure. Now I wear orthotics, but only in my running shoes. My chiropractor (wearing Birkenstocks) told me I should wear them all the time. Who was he kidding? He obviously never looked in my closet. I often thought about writing a blog devoted to shoes.
    Thanks for making my morning!

    • nancyelauzon January 12, 2013 at 9:29 am #

      You’re welcome, Kathleen! It’s so hard to find nice shoes that are comfortable also. It’s a never ending quest!

  2. 4amWriter January 12, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

    I wear an 8, which is very common and during sales I don’t luck out at all, as I’m always the last person to every sale on earth.

    My mother wears a 6. She is like Imelda Marcos, owning hundreds of pairs of shoes that do not cost less than $100.00 per pair (and that’s the cheap side). Lately though her feet have begun to get bigger. We don’t know why. So, she can’t wear her 6s and is now buying 7s. This means hundreds of expensive shoes are all alone, with no feet to wear them.

    And I can’t even benefit from her growing feet!! That’s probably the saddest part of this story.

    • nancyelauzon January 13, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

      Ah, too bad you can’t wear them, huh? It’s such a bummer when shoes or clothes that you love don’t fit you any more 😦

  3. rblerner2013 January 12, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

    I have worn a size 10 wide shoe for over 30 years. I have often had to buy men’s shoes because I can find something that fits my high arch. Lately, I have been wearing backless shoes and my current ones are more expensive crocs.

    • nancyelauzon January 13, 2013 at 2:48 pm #

      I have a few friends who LOVE Crocs and swear by them. I like the sandally kind.

Talk to me ;)

