Tasty Tuesday: Cravin’ Cornbread

15 Jan

corn breadCornbread is known as the ‘cornerstone’ of Southern U.S. cuisine, but traces its origins from Native Americans. Growing up my mother served macaroni and cheese for dinner along with my grandmother’s cornbread.  Slathered with butter, it was mealy and melt-in-your-mouth delicious. Her recipe is the best I’ve ever tasted:

Cravin’ Cornbread

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup canola or vegetable oil

2 eggs, beaten

1 1/4 cup flour

3 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 1/4 cups corn meal

1 cup milk

Blend sugar and oil, then beat in eggs. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt and cornmeal. Add gradually to sugar mixture  alternately with milk, stirring JUST ENOUGH to blend after each addition. (If you over-stir, the cornbread will be tough). Pour into a well-greased and floured 9 x 9 baking pan. Bake at 400 for 30 minutes. 

Please drop by my fellow Tasty Tuesday authors who are changing the world one word and recipe at a time:

Tangerine Angel Cupcakes by Selena Robins

17 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Cravin’ Cornbread”

  1. A. Catherine Noon January 15, 2013 at 12:24 am #

    OMG! I srsly LOVE cornbread. LOVELOVELOVE! THANK you for posting this! I can’t wait to try your version. LOVE!

  2. 4amWriter January 15, 2013 at 5:53 am #

    My mother’s family is from all over the south, and the recipe for cornbread that has been used for generations is nothing like the popular, more common version. It’s actually called spoonbread and it is made with bacon drippings and has no sugar whatsoever.

    My mother’s knickers get all up in a twist anytime she tries cornbread with sugar. She says, “That’s not bread. That’s cake.” 🙂

    Personally, I like both versions depending on my mood. Sweet or savory.

    • nancyelauzon January 15, 2013 at 8:20 am #

      I would love to try cornbread from the south. This version IS almost cake, (which is probably why I like it so much!) It’s also great for breakfast with jam on top 😉

    • PG Forte January 15, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

      I love them both. I love them all. With sugar, without sugar, with cheese, jalapenos, fresh roasted corn, molasses, onions, bacon–you name it. Okay, maybe not all at once. But I’m not gonna rule it out, either. If it’s made with cornmeal, I’m probably going to like it.

      • nancyelauzon January 15, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

        Yeah, so many variations to choose from 😉

  3. Kathleen Kaska January 15, 2013 at 9:58 am #

    And syrup on top—yum.

    • reneewildes1 January 15, 2013 at 10:33 am #

      Cornbread was an absolute staple in my house growing up – we had ours with butter, bacon & applesauce…

    • nancyelauzon January 15, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

      Kathleen, my hubby eats it that way!

  4. Selena Robins Musings January 15, 2013 at 11:06 am #

    Looks great, Nancy! If it’s cakey then my family will love it.

    • nancyelauzon January 15, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

      Thanks, Selena! I’ll have to make you some 😉

  5. katsrus January 15, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

    Sounds easy and really good. Thank you.
    Sue B

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. TASTY TUESDAY – KA’U ORANGE-GINGER CHICKEN « Reneewildes1's Weblog - January 15, 2013

    […] Nancy Lauzon http://nancylauzon.com/2013/01/15/tasty-tuesday-cravin-cornbread/ […]

  2. Tasty Tuesday: Cravin’ Cornbread « Reneewildes1's Weblog - January 15, 2013

    […] Tasty Tuesday: Cravin’ Cornbread. […]

  3. Tangerine Angel Cupcakes with Sweet Cloud Frosting « Selena Robins Musings - January 15, 2013

    […] Cravin’ Cornbread by Nancy Lauzon […]

Talk to me ;)

