Happy Birthday Betty

17 Jan
Photo:Ken Babocsay/CBS

Photo of Betty White courtesy Ken Babocsay/CBS

In an age of botox, implants, face lifts and nose jobs, there are still a few celebrities who have managed to stay looking great — and still resemble their younger selves — despite their age. Whether or not these celebrities have had ‘enhancements’ done doesn’t matter.  Whatever their secret, they haven’t gone overboard with plastic surgery like so many of their peers, and have embraced certain principles that have helped them keep a youthful glow.

Betty White turns 91 today, and still looks fantastic. She credits positive thinking, social activity and good health to her longevity. There are many reasons I love her. She’s funny, loves animals and works on crossword puzzles every day.

According to Betty’s “Hot in Cleveland” co-star Jane Leeves: “She eats crap. She eats Red Vines (red licorice candy), hot dogs, French fries and Diet Coke. If that’s key, maybe she’s preserved because of all the preservatives.”

And her exercise regime? “A two-story house and a bad memory.”

So next time I get a craving for red licorice while cracking open my Diet Coke, I’ll think of Betty and raise a glass to her.

Do you have a favorite celebrity who has celebrated MANY birthdays and still looks great?

8 Responses to “Happy Birthday Betty”

  1. Selena Robins Musings January 17, 2013 at 11:20 am #

    Great blog post, and you are so right. I love celebrities like her and Helen Mirin, and Meryl Streep who are aging gracefully. I hope I can be as sprite, bright and funny as she is at her age. Happy Birthday, Betty!

  2. A. Catherine Noon January 17, 2013 at 1:32 pm #

    Actually, my husband’s grandmother is 91 and looks great. I hope to have her energy when I’m in her age range. She’s an inspiration.

  3. kathleenkaskawrites January 18, 2013 at 9:01 am #

    Maggie Smith: she does look her age, but she’s a sharp as a tack. I think she’s wonderful in Downton Abbey.

  4. 4amWriter January 19, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

    I remember Betty White from all those sitcoms, but the one I remember best was Golden Girls. She was a riot. She’s one of those celebs who just gets better with age.

    • nancyelauzon January 20, 2013 at 8:49 am #

      My daughters are crazy about Golden Girls, they bought all the DVDs and watch them all the time!

Talk to me ;)

