Dating School for Completely Clueless Men: Mr. Lonely

8 Feb

This week’s letter touches on an important feature about dating, which many singles forget – the goal of dating is to attract somebody. In other words, put your best foot forward, make a great first impression, and leave them wanting more. Chances are if the first date goes well, you’ll get a second date. This might seem like a no brainer, but here is this week’s letter:

Dear DSCCM:

I enjoyed my first date with a very nice girl who must be interested in me, or she wouldn’t have agreed to the date. I’m sick of playing games, so I decided to be honest. I’ve been told women prefer honesty. I admitted how desperately lonely I am, how miserable my social life is, and that I don’t really have any friends since I’ve only lived in this country for seven years. I asked her out again, but she declined. What happened?

Larry Lonely

Mr. LonelyDear Mr. Lonely:

Unless you want a woman who dates you out of pity, please don’t whine and moan about how lonely you are. It’s smacks of desperation and is very off-putting, not to mention pathetic. Most singles who actively date are lonely — that’s why they’re dating. And after seven years, you should have a few friends, so clearly you’re doing something wrong or not making an effort. Be positive around other people. Spend your free time doing things you enjoy. Take up a hobby that involves other people. Chances are you’ll start making friends. Ask others about themselves, and show a genuine interest in other people. Don’t focus on the negatives, because nobody likes a Dan Downer. 

Do you have a dating horror story you’d like to share? Perhaps you need dating advice? Let me know, I’m all ears!

4 Responses to “Dating School for Completely Clueless Men: Mr. Lonely”

  1. 4amWriter February 8, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    Funny!

    • nancyelauzon February 11, 2013 at 9:49 am #

      Funny, but sadly true … every one of these ‘letters’ is based on real life situations my daughter has experienced in the dating world .. sigh…

  2. trjensen May 8, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

    The whining is not going to work. I don’t do pity dates and I hate it when a man says I just don’t want to be alone. That is such a turn off. When a guy says that I essentially think, “So you’ll date anyone. It doesn’t matter that it’s me. You’re just filling an empty seat.” That is in no way flattering.

Talk to me ;)

