Packing Light

1 Mar

Packing LightI’m jumping on a plane and flying to Portugal and Spain at the end of the week. My friend, Selena Robins, won’t agree with me telling you this. She worries about letting everyone know that you’re going on a trip and leaving an empty house.  But my house won’t be empty. I’ve hired a burly security guard to watch over things while we’re away–okay, so he’s actually our neighbour, but he’s ex-military–and we own a very protective Shar Pei whose only joy in life is barking and growling at anyone who tries to come into my house–friends, strangers, doesn’t matter. He may be sick with lymphoma, but he’s still ferocious.

I also think anyone reading this blog probably doesn’t even live in the same country as I do, let alone the same city. So I think I’m safe. 

Somehow I’ve been talked into packing light, since we’re taking several small planes once we get there, and they charge for oversized luggage and extra bags. Packing lightly is not something I’m used to doing. I have to pack enough clothes, make-up, toiletries and shoes (to last me 2 weeks) into an airline approved carry on suitcase. You can’t imagine what a challenge this is. Especially the shoes. 

But my biggest problem isn’t figuring out what to bring and pack. It’s how do I leave behind my worries and woes and enjoy my trip? Worrying is deeply embedded into my genes. It’s hardwired into my brain from several generations of worriers. I won’t bore you with the details of my worries, but at the top of the list is my sick dog–who we just found out was sick a few days ago. He’ll be very well cared for while we’re gone, but I’m afraid my heart and my thoughts might be staying behind, even as my body and my very light suitcase are winging their way across the ocean on our very first trip to Europe. 

 

9 Responses to “Packing Light”

  1. kathleenkaskawrites March 1, 2013 at 10:21 am #

    It’s tough leaving pets behind. I don’t know if I can offer any comforting words on that issue except that whenever my dogs stayed with their grandparents (my parents) while we traveled, they got ice cream every night after dinner and always came home fat and happy. Shoes are also a problem. I could pack an entire suitcase full, but remember this, you’re going to be among strangers so you can wear the same thing and no one will notice. We traveled for 19 months and after the first few weeks, I didn’t care if I wore the same T-shirt three times in a week as long as it was clean. I love Spain and Portugal and I know you well have a wonderful time.
    Here’s my packing list suggestion:
    one pair of sneakers,
    one pair of sexy, but comfortable sandals,
    one casual dress,
    one pair of jeans,
    one pair of shorts,
    three or four blouses that will go with everything.
    If you need anything else, you can buy it there.
    Have fun.

    • nancyelauzon March 1, 2013 at 2:44 pm #

      Thanks, Kathleen! I actually brought more than that, so I’m probably still overpacked!

  2. 4amWriter March 1, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

    It’s hard to enjoy a trip when we have to leave pets behind. Too bad you can’t Skype him. 🙂

  3. Selena Robins Musings March 1, 2013 at 11:02 pm #

    Enjoy your trip! Safe travels and wishing you lots of laughter, good food and making some wonderful memories. I knew you wouldn’t listen to me…does anyone ever listen to me? LOL that’s okay, you have a good guard at the house. Looking forward to seeing pictures and hearing all about it. xo

    • nancyelauzon March 6, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

      Don’t worry, Peter has taken about 400 photos so far!

  4. Jewel Divas Style March 1, 2013 at 11:24 pm #

    For two weeks I’d say seven outfits. One each day for a week. so that could consist of two or three pieces. Make sure they ALL mix and match with every other piece so you can make even more outfits and match your accessories in gold, silver or black, keeping all access to a minimum in case of theft or loss.

    Toiletries can be small bottles, take washing soap and a line of rope for washing and hanging.

    The way I’ve come to see it is, you look at everything you’ve chosen and then ask each piece, “would I be upset if I lost you or you were stolen?”. If the answer is yes, leave it home. If no, then it’s okay. As long as you make it all into a capsule you’ll be able to get many outfits from very few pieces. Of course you also need to make sure what you take is appropriate for the climate you’re going to.

Talk to me ;)

