Stupid Commercials

18 Apr

 

There are so many stupid commercials to choose from, but the Herbal Essences Airplane commercial is particularly annoying, in my opinion. Have you travelled on an airplane lately? Those bathrooms are so small you can barely get inside them to close the folding door, never mind wash your hair while you fake an orgasm and throw your head around like Beyonce. I might write fiction, but this scenario defies all logic. I find myself wondering 1) How could she possibly rinse her hair properly in a sink the size of a cereal bowl 2) If it’s against airline regulations to bring manicure scissors on board an aircraft, how is she allowed to bring her hairdryer? 3) Where would she plug in this hairdryer and 4) I highly doubt there are any plane-wide intercom buttons in the bathrooms–too tempting for would-be terrorists. 

There’s also the germ factor — those tiny bathrooms must be crawling with nasty microbes — yuck.

Back in the day the bathrooms may have been large enough to accomodate two people who wanted to have sex and join the ‘Mile High Club’–a strange fantasy, but who am I to judge? However, in this post 9/11 world, I’m sure sex on airplanes is prohibited, along with smoking and drinking too much. The harsh realities of terrorism have taken all the fun out of flying. Another reason why this commercial is completely off the mark.

One might argue that at least this commercial is making me think about Herbal Essences Shampoo. Hey, I’m even dedicating a blog post to it. But in all honesty, dumb commercials like this one make me doubly determined NOT to buy the product. 

How about you? Which commercial out there makes you grit your teeth? 

6 Responses to “Stupid Commercials”

  1. Kathleen Kaska April 18, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

    I know I’m probably in the minority, but I don’t like the car insurance commercials with the woman who has the Jersey Girl hairstyle where it rises up on the back of her head like an strange growth.

    • nancyelauzon April 19, 2013 at 9:13 am #

      I’ll join your minority, then, I don’t like it either. She’s annoying and she wears too much make-up!

  2. Selena Robins Musings April 19, 2013 at 11:59 am #

    LOL! Most commercials are so stupid. The one I really can’t stand is the Nyquil one, where the guy is waking up his wife because he can’t sleep, because he has a man-cold. First of all, if they’ve been married for any length of time, he would know that she’d clock him for waking her up with his whining! And secondly, most men are not that babyish where they can’t get out of bed themselves and get their own damn Nyquil.

    There are other dumb commercials, but can’t remember them all. I program most things these days then skip through the stupidity.

    • nancyelauzon April 20, 2013 at 9:19 am #

      Yeah, I wish I had prerecording, if only to get rid of the commercials!

  3. 4amWriter April 19, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    I don’t get to watch much TV, so I miss all the stupid commercials. Poor me. 😉

    • nancyelauzon April 20, 2013 at 9:19 am #

      You’re not missing that much, unless you get HBO, LOL!

Talk to me ;)

