The Lazy Gardener: Three Plants I Love

17 May

I enjoy gardening, but I don’t want to spend 24/7 pampering difficult plants. I just don’t have the time. So to qualify for a spot in my garden, plants have to be: 1) insect resistant 2) easy to maintain and 3) hard to kill. So here are my top three favorite plants that meet that criteria:

annabelleANNABELLE HYDRANGEA (Hydrangea arborescens ‘Annabelle’) –  I needed a shrub underneath the eaves next to my front terrace, which faces north. In other words, something that required very little sun and not much water. I didn’t think such a plant existed, but the Annabelle was recommended by my local nursery, who called it ‘indestructible, but very pretty to look at.’ 

This bush has survived winter kill and being accidentally maimed by a snow blower. And yet, every spring its little shoots come up, and it blooms into a beautiful bush filled with snowball-like flowers. I water it whenever I remember to, but it doesn’t seem to matter whether I do or not. 

My kind of plant!

Sedum Autumn JoySEDUM ‘AUTUMN JOY’ (Stonecrop) – This classic perennial is one of my favorites, and has a reputation for being ‘dependable’ and ‘adaptable’, two great qualities I wish I had more of.  Insects don’t seem interested in the Sedum plant, either, another plus. 

The sedum starts off with rubbery green leaves in the spring, and its sturdy stems support large flower heads that darken with age into a beautiful raspberry hue in the fall. I don’t cut them back until the spring, which gives my garden winter interest and food for the birds. 

honeysucklevineHONEYSUCKLE VINE (Lonicera) – Also called a hardy twining honeysuckle, I’ve had one in my garden for years, and love the way it rambles up the iron obelisk and works its way across the back fence. 

These beautiful vines also attract hummingbirds, a definite bonus in any city garden.

Do you have a favorite garden perennial? 

4 Responses to “The Lazy Gardener: Three Plants I Love”

  1. Selena Robins Musings May 17, 2013 at 12:29 am #

    I have a black thumb. I once killed a cactus…and no, not the one I fell into. LOL A small plant given to me as a gift, because my friend who gave it to me knew that I don’t have a green thumb and she said, it’s hard to kill a cactus plant. Well, I did. I leave all this gardening stuff to my husband, although I am good at delegating where I want things. LOL

    Thanks for the tips, Nancy, I will pass them on to the gardener in the family. 🙂

    • nancyelauzon May 17, 2013 at 8:45 am #

      I have to admit, I find cacti a challenge, too. I think I overwater them. I tried to grow succulents last year (inspired by my trip to Arizona) but they all died. Sigh. I guess the weather here is slightly different than Arizona’s … DUH!

  2. 4amWriter May 17, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    Add me to the list of cacti killers!

    I have a hydrangea, which are easy to grow in my yard because they like acidic soil and I have a lot of pine trees. I also have a sedum, and I don’t have to do anything to it. Love both of those!

    I don’t have a honeysuckle vine, but it looks very pretty. Does it smell as lovely as the tree?

    • nancyelauzon May 17, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

      I don’t find it does, actually, which is strange…

Talk to me ;)

