Remembering Leroy

22 May
Sweet Leroy

Leroy Brown 2003 – 2013

We adopted Leroy Brown, an apricot pug, from an animal rescue group in our community four years ago. He was the victim of a puppy mill, and spent the first six years of his life in a cage. It’s hard to think about those years — I can only hope it’s true what they say, that dogs live in the moment, and that once he became a member of our family, those horrible memories faded.

He soon became a bright light in our lives. Even my hubby, who wasn’t keen on having another dog in our house (we already had Sam, our Shar-Pei) fell under his spell before too long. Technically Leroy belonged to my daughter, but since I was home all day with him while she went off to school or work, I considered myself his grandmother. We established our own routine: after breakfast I would bring my coffee up to my study, and he would follow, settling beside my desk to sleep while I wrote. Anywhere I was in the house, he was beside me, like a shadow. Around two in the afternoon, he would insist we have a nap together on the bed, and we spent many happy hours snoozing and snoring together.

When my hubby came home from work, Leroy would bark his head off, and act vicious … then at the dinner table, he would head straight to my husband to beg for treats. They had a strange relationship!

He had a cute habit of sticking out his tongue, since he had very few teeth. And he hopped upstairs like a bunny rabbit. He had a funny little waddle when he walked. Our dog Sam tolerated him, since he isn’t the warm and fuzzy type, but on one occasion he saved Leroy’s life. It was during a walk together, when a large dog broke lose from his yard and began to attack Leroy. Sam came to his defense, earning a dangerous bite from the other dog, which had to be cleaned and sutured. But I guess Sam considered Leroy to be  a member of his pack, and nobody messes with Sam’s pack.

My daughter took Leroy with her when she moved out last year, and I missed him terribly. But he often came to visit on evenings and weekends, and it was like he never left.

It’s hard to believe a little scrap of caninity can take such a big piece of your heart, but that’s what Leroy Brown did for all of us in our short time together. Rest in peace, my Leroy.

5 Responses to “Remembering Leroy”

  1. Rachelle Lerner May 22, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

    Only non-pet people do not understand that they are members of our families and we do miss them when they die. Sorry to hear of your loss, thanks for sharing your memories.

    • nancyelauzon May 23, 2013 at 10:40 am #

      Thanks so much for your comments, and to everyone who responded on Facebook … it helps so much 😉

  2. 4amWriter May 24, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

    I’m so sorry about your loss, Nancy. I know how hard it is to lose a pet. I’m so glad you were able to give him a loving home.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sam | The Chick Dick Mysteries - June 25, 2013

    […] daughter’s dog, Leroy Brown, was attacked by a loose dog during a walk in the park, and Sam leapt to his defense, saving his […]

Talk to me ;)

