The Problem with Pepperoni

4 Jun
Source: My backyard. It's my Flying Piggy Garden Ornament. Copyright Nancy Lauzon 2013. Do Not Reuse For Your Damn Blog Without The Express Permission Of the Photographer.

Source: My backyard. It’s my Flying Piggy Garden Ornament. Copyright Nancy Lauzon 2013. Do Not Reuse For Your Damn Blog Without The Express Permission Of the Photographer.

Sometimes the universe make absolutely no sense.

Case in point: I received an e-mail the other day from a disgruntled blogger, complaining that I had used his photograph of Deep Fried Pepperoni without his permission, from his old blog. 

Really? A picture of pepperoni? From an old blog?

He’s right, of course. I should have acknowledged the source of the photo I used. I’ve been aware for some time now that it’s a ‘faux-pas’ not to do this, and of course I never use photographs that are copyrighted. But this incident occured last year, when I was less savvy about these things. Now I use my own photos, or use the Flickr:WANA Commons site, or simply give credit to the owner of the photo. 

But to me this is out of proportion to the real problem of stealing AN ENTIRE NOVEL. I have found my novels all over the internet on book pirating sites, and I can tell you that I don’t see A PENNY  in royalties for these books. Am I annoyed? Of course. Do I do anything about it? NO. 

I wouldn’t know where to begin finding these people who stole my books, so I would have no way to contact them to chew them out. And the way I look at it, if they’re downloading my books and reading them, I’m getting some exposure. So actually, I see that as a good thing. 

The crux of this problem? Is a photo of somebody’s lunch really in the same category as art? I mean, let’s get real. 

Of course I understand the importance of sourcing other people’s photos. But as far as I’m concerned, it’s NOT as serious a crime as pirating books or music or using unsourced artwork or professional photographs. Hell, if your picture of pepperoni means that much to you, copyright the damn thing. 

What do you think?  Why are people freaking out about pepperoni? Shouldn’t they be freaking out about more important things, like stolen books?  

7 Responses to “The Problem with Pepperoni”

  1. Kassandra Lamb June 4, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

    Amen!! Love your caption on the flying pig. I’m very careful these days to only use public domain or creative commons licensed photos and to give credit, but like you, I didn’t always know to do this. One of the problems with cyberspace… Once it’s out there, it’s out there.

  2. nancyelauzon June 4, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

    I know, eh? People make mountains out of mole hills. If you post a photo on the internet, don’t be surprised if you find it somewhere else. And IMHO, pepperoni does not constitute ‘art’. Thanks for your comments.

  3. 4amWriter June 5, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

    Wow, Nancy, I can’t believe your books are being stolen. I mean, I knew it happened, but I guess I didn’t think it was that common. Is there really nothing you can do? That kind of thing would just burn my ass, I tell you. Hearing your experience, I can see why the guy and his pepperoni is kind of laughable.

    • nancyelauzon June 6, 2013 at 8:33 am #

      It happens so often that I just feel overwhelmed. And at this point in my career I’m trying to build a readership, not make money, so I figure if people are so tight-fisted that they can’t afford $2.99, it’s more important that I maybe garner a few fans. At least, that’s how I make myself feel better, LOL!

  4. Selena Robins Musings June 7, 2013 at 2:52 am #

    Yes, I totally understand his quest for justice here! Forget those minor problems in the world, economic crisis, countries in debt, the housing situation in some countries, poverty, job losses and that little nut job in North Korea….all minor compared to you posting someone’s fried pepperoni lunch. A new art form: Classic Lunch Art.

    By the way, can I borrow your flying pig ornament for a blog post I want to write. I PROMISE I will not turn him into pepperoni.

    • nancyelauzon June 7, 2013 at 9:21 am #

      No damn way. Take a photo of your own garden ornament. But if you insist on using it, I’ll have to charge you a 15% user fee, which comes to $8.75. I accept PayPal. Hey, you’re an author, you’ve got lots of money, don’t you? (grin)

      • Selena Robins Musings June 8, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

        LOL! When pigs really do fly will I pay you anything! I’m going to just take the damn thing.

Talk to me ;)

