Toadally Awesome

14 Jun
Photo courtesy of ME

Photo courtesy of ME

I found a toad in my garden the other day. You can’t imagine my joy. I’ve been trying to lure toads into my garden for years. I’ve bought the nicest looking toad houses. Didn’t work. I’ve  placed saucers of cool water amongst my plants. No dice. I’ve kidnapped toads from farmer’s fields. They escaped. (Yes, I know I’m not supposed to disturb wild habitats, but I was desperate).

I’m not sure why the universe decided it was time I was honored with a toad, but I’m thrilled. I suspect it has something to do with the fact that we have a fountain nearby,(toads like water) and the thick layer of cedar mulch I put down this year. Mr. Toad (yes, I named him) seems to like burying himself in the stuff. 

Why do I want a toad so badly? Toads are bug-eating machines, eating as many as 50 to 100 slugs, flies, grubs, grasshoppers, and cutworms in just one night! Toads could care less about eating your garden crops. They are only interested in bugs. You gotta love it. 

7 Responses to “Toadally Awesome”

  1. kathleenkaskawrites June 14, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

    I also love the croaking sound they make. Sadly, though the amphibian class is diminishing rapidly (water pollution), so your efforts to lure toads to your garden and prove a safe habitat is a good thing. Hopefully, Mr. Toad has a Mrs. Toad stashed somewhere nearby and you’ll soon have a bunch of tadpoles in your fountain.

  2. Selena Robins Musings June 14, 2013 at 11:46 pm #

    You almost lost me, and then you had me when you mentioned that they eat bugs. In that case, I’ll take a toad or two. By the way, I’m not going to let you know when I copy that picture for my own blog. LOL

    • nancyelauzon June 16, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

      I’ll lurk on your website and catch you when you steal my photo, LOL!

  3. fandina June 16, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

    Toads!! No way. Here in Oz, the toads eat the native frogs, not the bugs, they kill our other wildlife and many a dog has lost it’s life due to biting on their horrid poison sacs. I hate toads…what’s your address, I’ll send all mine over to you 🙂

    • nancyelauzon June 16, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

      Wow, I had no idea there were ‘killer’ toads out there! You can keep them, okay? LOL

      • fandina June 16, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

        Darn it! Thought I had a great solution for the farmers over here!

Talk to me ;)

